Community
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 

Mining the Information Stream

by on ‎11-19-2009 04:09 PM (1,762 Views)

Social media seems all the rage today, and many ACT! customers have enjoyed both our social media features and add-ins as well as our webinars discussing these features and our newly published Social Media White Paper for ACT! 2010.  But as a Product Manager I get asked by customers if the existing crop of social media players will be around long enough to make it worth a business’s time to begin using them.  Considering the fluid nature of popularity and the unclear business plans of these sites traditional information integration from these sources can seem like a risky venture.

Stewart Brand once said:

On the one hand information wants to be expensive, because it's so valuable. The right information in the right place just changes your life. On the other hand, information wants to be free, because the cost of getting it out is getting lower and lower all the time….”

The deluge of information available thanks to social media sites, decades of blog and personal page hosting and peer to peer sharing networks indicates that freely distributed information seems to be winning the struggle  outlined above.   Though the information battle is far from over, all of this information suddenly so “free” has created some problems.   Now that valuable, game changing piece of information is competing with potentially thousands or tens of thousands of related pieces of information and finding that one useful piece can be daunting.