Community
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 

Fast Tip Friday: Securing Multiple Contacts #SageACT

by bwhalen_sage on ‎03-01-2013 09:16 AM (1,270 Views)

banner Sage UniversitySubmit your Tip

In multi-user databases, you may have records that require some level of security so that only authorized users are accessing, or modifying data. Working from a contact list, you may secure multiple contacts at the same time. Here’s how.

 

 

Securing Multiple Contacts

 

1. To secure multiple contacts, first look them up:

 

  • From the Contact view, perform a lookup of contacts by State, Record Manager, or some other field, for example.
  • From the Groups/Companies view, open a Group/Company, and then click the Create Lookup from Group/Company button

 

2. Next, click Tag All to select all contacts in the list.

 

 

3. Right click the selected list, and then choose Edit Contact Access, and choose from the following options:

 

  • Make Contacts Private: This option will make the selected contacts accessible only to you. Notes, History and associated data will also be marked Private.

  • Make Contacts Public: This option will make the selected contacts accessible to all users in the database.

  • Add Users/Teams (Premium only): This option opens another dialog box where you may select additional Users or Teams (groups of users) that will be added to the access list of the records. Adding users to the access list allows those users to view and potentially edit the records.

  • Remove Users/Teams (Premium only):  This option opens another dialog box where you may select additional Users or Teams (groups of users) that will be removed from the access list of the records. Removing users from the access list prevents those users from viewing the records.

  • Create New Access List (Premium only):  This will overwrite any existing access list, replacing it with your new selections. Any Users/Teams added may view and potentially edit the records.

  • Edit Access List (Premium only): This option is only available when a single contact is selected, and enables you to revise the current access list by adding/removing users from the list.

Securing contacts using this method is quick and enables you to ensure only authorized users are accessing and editing contacts you intended! This is useful in situations where you have territorial sales, multiple functional roles in the organization sharing the same data, or even on the individual contact level where you might want to secure your personal contacts. 

 

 

Labels