Community
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 

Fast Tip Friday: Removing Cleared Activities #SageACT

by bwhalen_sage ‎12-28-2012 09:27 AM - edited ‎12-28-2012 09:29 AM (1,977 Views)

banner Sage University Submit your Tip

Many of you that use Sage ACT! do so because it enables you to track all your interactions with your customers, and recall information about those interactions via the History tab. History may be manually or automatically recorded when you clear an activity, send an e-mail, or complete other actions. Over time, cleared activities may begin to clutter the database, so considering a New Year is just around the corner; it’s a great time to clean up your database a bit by removing these older entries. Here’s how!

 

Removing Cleared Activities

 

1. First, back up your database to create an archive copy of older data. Click File > Backup Database.

 

2. Select Tools > Database Maintenance > Remove Old Data.

 


 

3. Select Cleared activities older than and then specify the age of the data to be removed. Notice removal is based on today’s date, so you are selecting to remove any data older than “X” days from today. Click OK.

 

Removing Cleared activities older than “0” days will effectively remove all cleared activities. Assuming you have recorded history for the more critical cleared activities, the relevant details are available for viewing on the History tab rather than as a cleared activity. If there is a chance you might unclear a recent activity, then consider setting this value to something other than “0”. Furthermore, all cleared activities will be contained in the backed up copy of your database.

 


 

4. After selecting OK, a message displays the number of Cleared Activities that will be removed. To proceed with data removal, click Yes.

 

5. After the command competes, click Yes to re-index your database. Re-indexing improves the speed with which data may be located; if you do not want to re-index at this time, click No.

 

6. If you selected to re-index the database, at the prompt, click OK.

 

Depending on the number of Activities you enter into Sage ACT!, you may want to schedule a recurring activity so that you remember to perform this important maintenance every 6 months, or even quarterly.

 

Comments
by
on ‎12-28-2012 11:08 AM

Last time I checked (admittedly a couple of versions ago), this didn't actually remove them completely from the tables - it marked them as unavailable and removed some links.

 

I suspect it's because of the complexity in fixing the links everywher with such a complex structure?

 

I had a couple of users where this was such an issue we had to export/import the database to reduce it's size.

 

Has this changed recently?

 

Also, haven't check, but do the other options remove attached files (if any)?

Does the cleared activities remove attached files?

How does this effect sync?

 

Regards,
Mike Lazarus
ACT! Evangelist
GL Computing, Australia
http://about.me/GLComputing
http://Blog.GLComputing.com.au
http://twitter.com/GLComputing

GL Computing Facebook Page - http://www.facebook.com/GLComputing
LinkedIN ACT! Fanatics Group - http://www.linkedin.com/groups/ACT-Fanatics-49896

by bwhalen_sage
on ‎01-04-2013 09:42 AM

Mike,

 

Great questions. When cleared activities are removed with this tool, they are erased, and completely removed from the database. Any attachments that were attached to that activity are also removed from the database.

 

There is a definite distinction between an activity being "cleared" and "erased". A cleared activity is marked as cleared and remains in the database. This is visible within Sage ACT! by choosing to Show Cleared Activities when viewing the Task List, for example. However, if you right click and activity and choose Erase, or use the tool described in this tip, the activity and attachments are completely removed.

 

Regarding the affect on sync, these records are queued up as "Deletes" and will be deleted from remotes the next time a subscribing database syncs.

 

Lastly, there isn't an in-product tool to remove just attachments.

 

Thanks!

Brian

Labels