Community
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 

Bring Back Macros

by ‎01-12-2010 07:16 AM - edited ‎01-12-2010 08:12 AM

I have recently migrated from a very old version of ACT! to the latest 2010 premium version. Over the years I spent a lot of effort automating my ACT usage by building a whole series of macros for common functions and assigning toolbar buttons to them. Imagine my surprise when I find out I couldn't build a macro anymore with ACT 2010!

Please bring back the ability to record macros and allow them to be assigned to custom toolbar buttons and menu items.

Message Edited by ralphmack on 01-12-2010 08:12 AM
Thanks for the feedback, Ralphmack. In ACT! 2011, we've added a feature called Smart Tasks. This will allow you to create a series of activities, emails and ACT! E-Marketing actions that will trigger once the criteria you've defined in your database has been met.
Comments
by khettinger
on ‎01-27-2010 05:49 AM

I am relatively new to ACT and have just upgraded from the 2009 version to the 2010 version.  I have the need to automate some tasks and figured Macros were the way to go.  Now I see that Macro functionality doesn't exist!  New product and less functionality for the advanced user.

Certain features may have changed or are no longer available, including inbound caller ID functionality, WinFax integration, recording and playback of macros, e-mail/modem-based database synchronization, and SideACT!.

Bring them back, and quick.

by bkohler
on ‎01-29-2010 11:50 AM
Regarding macros, what are some of the things you are trying to do?
by
on ‎01-29-2010 12:03 PM

Automate repetitive tasks. For instance, I had used macros to clear a group of tasks in a specific way. Of course improving the ability to bulk edit tasks/activities may elminate this.

Anytime I found a repetitive task I would throw together a macro and save myself some time.