Issue: If an Act! user leaves, when you remove them as a User you realocate their records to the new Record Manager. When you do this the Record Manager name on all the existing Notes and history records is updated to the new name.
If there was a non-editable text field in Notes and History called "Created By", the name of the RM creating the item could be automatically copied there when the item is created. That way, if the RM changes you can still see who created the original item.