Community
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply

.net 2.0 sp1 issue fixed in ACT! 2009 or has anyone tried .net 2.0 sp2?

Accepted Solution Solved
Copper Contributor
Posts: 43
Country: USA
Accepted Solution

.net 2.0 sp1 issue fixed in ACT! 2009 or has anyone tried .net 2.0 sp2?

Hello Everyone,

 

Over and over again I am getting clients with ACT errors because they have .net 2.0 sp1. Usually I have them uninstall .net 2.0 sp1, do the cleanup, and reinstall .net 2.0 to fix the problem.. THis is such a pain in the you know what. Does ACT! 2009 have the same problems with .net 2.0 sp1? Has anyone tested .net 2.0 sp2?

 

Thanks for your time.

WD


Accepted Solutions
Solution
Accepted by topic author iwendlei
‎09-25-2015 03:20 AM
Nickel Elite Contributor
Posts: 567
Country: USA

Re: .net 2.0 sp1 issue fixed in ACT! 2009 or has anyone tried .net 2.0 sp2?

From a command window, navigate to the product's installed folder.  Run the file "MachineConfigUpdater.exe".

Restart the machine and see if the problem continues.

 

thanks,

-Matt

Matthew McFadden

View solution in original post


All Replies
Copper Contributor
Posts: 43
Country: USA

Re: .net 2.0 sp1 issue fixed in ACT! 2009 or has anyone tried .net 2.0 sp2?

Nickel Elite Contributor
Posts: 567
Country: USA

Re: .net 2.0 sp1 issue fixed in ACT! 2009 or has anyone tried .net 2.0 sp2?

What is the problem?

 

We run with .NET 2.0 SP1 daily without issue, so I am curious to know and why you feel that ACT! has the problem.

 

thanks,

-Matt

Matthew McFadden
Copper Contributor
Posts: 43
Country: USA

Re: .net 2.0 sp1 issue fixed in ACT! 2009 or has anyone tried .net 2.0 sp2?

If you refresh and add items to the History and Notes tab, it throws an object error. Also causes ACT to close upon closing or opening ACT in most cases. This is a known issue: Error: "ACT! Has Encountered an Error and Needs to Close" After Applying Microsoft® Updates

Solution
Accepted by topic author iwendlei
‎09-25-2015 03:20 AM
Nickel Elite Contributor
Posts: 567
Country: USA

Re: .net 2.0 sp1 issue fixed in ACT! 2009 or has anyone tried .net 2.0 sp2?

From a command window, navigate to the product's installed folder.  Run the file "MachineConfigUpdater.exe".

Restart the machine and see if the problem continues.

 

thanks,

-Matt

Matthew McFadden
Copper Contributor
Posts: 43
Country: USA

Re: .net 2.0 sp1 issue fixed in ACT! 2009 or has anyone tried .net 2.0 sp2?

I will test that tomorrow and will let you know the results. However, has anyone tested with the .net 2.0 sp2 and is this issue a non issue in ACT! 2009?
Nickel Elite Contributor
Posts: 567
Country: USA

Re: .net 2.0 sp1 issue fixed in ACT! 2009 or has anyone tried .net 2.0 sp2?

Daily, and with .NET 3.0, 3.5 and 3.5SP1.  I suspect you are a victim of an order of operations issue, meaning that the MS update trounced something in your environment.  The procedure I mention should be the solution for you.

 

thanks,

-Matt

 

Matthew McFadden
Copper Contributor
Posts: 43
Country: USA

Re: .net 2.0 sp1 issue fixed in ACT! 2009 or has anyone tried .net 2.0 sp2?

It worked! THanks for your help!
RPC
New Member
Posts: 8
Country: United States

Re: .net 2.0 sp1 issue fixed in ACT! 2009 or has anyone tried .net 2.0 sp2?

Are you telling me that to fix the issue in ACT about NET 2.0 we have to buy 2009 version.........Please tell me that is not so
Moderator
Posts: 4,395
Country: USA

Re: .net 2.0 sp1 issue fixed in ACT! 2009 or has anyone tried .net 2.0 sp2?

It looks like running machineconfigupdater.exe resolved iwendlei's object reference error and ACT! has encountered an error.  I believe machineconfigupdater.exe is only available in 10.0.2 and later versions.