Community
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 

limited access for notes, histories, activities

Copper Contributor

limited access for notes, histories, activities

I have been using ACT for about two months. I only have one user license right now and I'm looking to add more users. However, I have concerns regarding access of activities/notes/histories/emails/etc... 

I understand you can limit the access of contacts, companies, opportunities etc to selected users. However, I would like to limit the access of notes, etc.... The reason is because I may have notes regarding negoiations that some employees who need access the contact/company/opportunity don't need to know about, while other employees do need to know about. Does this make sense?

I already know that you can't do this. You have the option to make it private or public but not limited. Therefore my question, is this. If I add the user to the activity by the "schedule with" or when the activity is cleared "share with" a group of selected users; will they then be able to see the history comments if it is still marked private? 

Will this make it:

• Private - restrict access to everyone not in the "group" of employees or users "scheduled with"
  • Make it available to those in the group or scheduled with?

Any other suggestions?

Thanks,

Platinum Elite Contributor

Re: limited access for notes, histories, activities

Private means only for the ONE user who is the Record Manager ... so a Private activity or history won't be seen by the others.

Limited access for sub-tables would get really messy ... scenarios like having access to the History item but not to the contact or one of the contacts/companies/groups it's linked to

It would cause issues with reporting, dashboards, etc

Gets even more tricky with sync and mobile sync environments.