Community
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 

importing act 9.0 database from one pc to another pc with act 9.0

importing act 9.0 database from one pc to another pc with act 9.0

i have act premium (version 9.0.0.557) on one pc (PC A) with a database that i want to put on another pc (PC B) that has regular act (version 9.0.1.162).  they are both version 9.0.  the database on PC A has already been backed up and is in a zip file, which i transferred to PC B.  i opened ACT on PC B and under file chose to import.  it doesn't seem to want me to open this file.  i've never done this before so not sure how to do it properly.  i did extract the zip file so i have it in zipped and unzipped versions but either way it doesn't allow me to open it.  when the import wizard asks me to browse to the file i can see the file.  it appears as though it's looking for one of two file extensions - .pad and.adf.  my file is a zip file and i don't know what the extensions of the extracted versions of that zip file are.  can someone help me figure this out.  thanks.
Nickel Elite Contributor

Re: importing act 9.0 database from one pc to another pc with act 9.0

Try File | Restore | Restore As.
Roy Laudenslager
ACT! Certified Consultant
Techbenders
royel@techbenders.com

i tried file/restore/restore as and it looked like it was working.  after it said that the restore was successful it said something along the lines of - this database can only be restored to the same version of ACT.  does that mean the exact same version with the slight field tweaks, which is where this database is coming from OR does it just mean ACT 9.0 premium workgroup version.  the version i tried this restore as to is just generic act 9.0?  what do you think?  joe
Nickel Elite Contributor