Community
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply

import company list from Excel to Act 2012

New Member
Posts: 5
Country: USA

import company list from Excel to Act 2012

I have tried to import an Excel customer list to Act 2012.  I go through the entire import wizard process, including taking 2 hours to "import" only to find out that it has not worked.  Nothing is there.

 

Platinum Elite Contributor
Posts: 6,652
Country: USA

Re: import company list from Excel to Act 2012

What duplicate checking settings did you use?

Roy Laudenslager
ACT! Certified Consultant
ACT! Report Expert
Durkin Impact Report Designer
www.techbenders.com
royel@techbenders.com
541-343-8129
New Member
Posts: 5
Country: USA

Re: import company list from Excel to Act 2012

i did not use any duplicate settings.

New Member
Posts: 5
Country: USA

Re: import company list from Excel to Act 2012

Roy, i think i used Contact duplicate setting.

Platinum Elite Contributor
Posts: 6,652
Country: USA

Re: import company list from Excel to Act 2012

Unless you specifically disabled duplicate checking there would be some settings. You need to check. One of the most common causes of what happened is to have the duplicate checking set to fields that are blank in the import file.

Roy Laudenslager
ACT! Certified Consultant
ACT! Report Expert
Durkin Impact Report Designer
www.techbenders.com
royel@techbenders.com
541-343-8129
New Member
Posts: 5
Country: USA

Re: import company list from Excel to Act 2012

Great. I will re-try.  Thanks Roy.

New Member
Posts: 5
Country: USA

Re: import company list from Excel to Act 2012

Roy, i tried to change the Duplicate Checking to Company.  Disabled duplicate.  When i go to close out of the screen the Duplicate Checking  hitting the OK button, the Duplicate Checking changes to Contact.  My database does not have the contact names in it yet.