Community
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 

Would it be better to install an Act2012 database on a local workstation or a network file server?

Would it be better to install an Act2012 database on a local workstation or a network file server?

I am totally new to Act! and decided to purchase Act 2012 Pro because I'm still using Office 2003.  I have not yet installed it and would welcome advice from those with more knowledge about the best way to proceed.  I have a Windows Small Business Server 2003 network with about a dozen attached workstations.  All workstations are running Windows 7 (32-bit).  ACT! will be used initially by only 2 of these users who will share a common database.  SQL Server 2008 R2 (Express Edition) is already installed and running on the network file server supporting databases for 2 other applications.  For all  of our business applications, data files are stored on the server and backed up nightly; only programs reside on individual workstations.  Thus, it seems to be the ideal solution would be for the ACT! database to reside on the file server rather than on a local workstation, but it seems the default installation is geared toward installation on a workstation.  Would installation on the file server be unwise or problematic?  If not, then do I need to install ACT on the server or can I simply create an instance for the ACT7 database on the server as described in a posting in the technical database section of this website?  If I did this, would the users be able to customize (maintain) the database to their liking once the ACT program is installed on their workstations?  I'm just really unclear on the best approach to take and would rather ask for advice up front than create a messed up installation.  Remote access isn't an issue or concern for us ... the issues are to get up and running smoothly and make sure the database will be easy to back up.

Platinum Elite Contributor