Community
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply

Winfax

Copper Contributor
Posts: 40
Country: United States

Winfax

I am considering upgrading from Act 6.03 and use Winfax as it reads the dbf file to grab the fax phone numbers.  It doesn't look like Winfax will work with the new version.  What fax software is compatible to use with Act 2009?

 

On another note, is it really worth upgrading as 6.03 works fine and I am the only user on my stand alone desktop home office?

 

Thanks

Nickel Elite Contributor
Posts: 934
Country: USA

Re: Winfax

[ Edited ]

ACT!6 is a great product, but ACT! 11 is much more powerful and now is a good  time to upgrade.

ACT!6 may so become too outdated now for todays technology platforms.

 

One possible fax software solution 

In the faxing software days I tested/used several fax softwares and www.faxtalk.com is one of my favorites and still use it.

ACT!10/11 does not recognize it but that has never been a prob for me. Works great on XP and Vista.

Since I use cable broadband, I run a phone line out the back of my modem and into my Magic Jack phone that plugs into a usb port.

 

Not sure about winfax these days and not sure if it will run on vista?

 

also chack out FaxAVE  ACT! add on at  http://www.actaddons.com/products/faxave.asp 

 

more options =  http://www.myfax.com/myfax_for_act.asp?bt=p    

 

cheers - fsb

Message Edited by FillStaffBill on 02-11-2009 01:50 PM
Bill Williams - Owner/Consultant/Trainer at Fill Staff "ACT! FOR RECRUITERS"
Manage Your ACT! Backups http://fillstaff.com/backupfolderspro.html - FREE
BIG ACT! LAYOUTS for Larger Monitors www.bigactlayouts.com
Protect your Files & Folders with Folder Lock Pro by New Software http://download.cnet.com/Folder-Lock/3000-2092_4-10063343.html
Copper Contributor
Posts: 40
Country: United States

Re: Winfax

If Act 2009 doesn't recognize either of the fax software you mention, how would I do group faxing like I do with Act 6.03?

Thanks

Nickel Elite Contributor
Posts: 934
Country: USA

Re: Winfax

[ Edited ]

How many people at a time are you faxing?

How often are you faxing ? Daily? Weekly? Monthly?

 

You can download a free 15 day trial of faxtalk and see how it works.

It does alllow for scheduling of faxes, multi contacts , their sales folks can also assist you www.faxtalk.com 

FaxTalk FaxCenter Pro 7.5   is only $60...

 

Also check out this info from ACT site  http://www.act.com/products/solutions/type/index.cfm?TYPE=app&TYPEID=5 

 

and  http://www.myfax.com/myfax_for_act.asp?bt=p 

 

fsb

Message Edited by FillStaffBill on 02-11-2009 01:51 PM
Bill Williams - Owner/Consultant/Trainer at Fill Staff "ACT! FOR RECRUITERS"
Manage Your ACT! Backups http://fillstaff.com/backupfolderspro.html - FREE
BIG ACT! LAYOUTS for Larger Monitors www.bigactlayouts.com
Protect your Files & Folders with Folder Lock Pro by New Software http://download.cnet.com/Folder-Lock/3000-2092_4-10063343.html
New Member
Posts: 4
Country: United States

Re: Winfax

It seems like once Act left 6.0 they said goodby to faxing. Last month is a Act Seminar on 10.0, I asked how can I fax from 10.0 like I did with 6.0. Over 1/2 of my customers use fax and not e-mail.

Was told by Act personnel that I was outdate and old school. They had no idea how to do it.

I doubt any version of Act after 6.0 will do any broadcast faxing. I am putting a version on 6.0 on anther computer just to broadcast fax.

Richard Matthews

Platinum Elite Contributor
Posts: 6,652
Country: USA

Re: Winfax

Actually, the faxing was not controlled by ACT! so it never had it' own faxing capability. Symantec chose not to update WinFax to work with the ACT! 2005 and later. 
Roy Laudenslager
ACT! Certified Consultant
ACT! Report Expert
Durkin Impact Report Designer
www.techbenders.com
royel@techbenders.com
541-343-8129
Nickel Elite Contributor
Posts: 934
Country: USA

Re: Winfax

 There is ASDS Faxadmin for ACT! , but it disables the autophone  dialer in ACT!.. http://www.asdscomputer.com/products/faxadmin/ 

cheers - fsb

Bill Williams - Owner/Consultant/Trainer at Fill Staff "ACT! FOR RECRUITERS"
Manage Your ACT! Backups http://fillstaff.com/backupfolderspro.html - FREE
BIG ACT! LAYOUTS for Larger Monitors www.bigactlayouts.com
Protect your Files & Folders with Folder Lock Pro by New Software http://download.cnet.com/Folder-Lock/3000-2092_4-10063343.html
New Member
Posts: 8
Country: United States

Re: Winfax


Roy_Laudenslage wrote:
Actually, the faxing was not controlled by ACT! so it never had it' own faxing capability. Symantec chose not to update WinFax to work with the ACT! 2005 and later. 

 

This is not entirely true, I'm not an ACT! expert, but I believe the database in ACT! was significantly changed from version 6.0 to ACT! 2005.  Because of this change, they would have to completely re-write the link to WinFax. I'm guessing that they didn't want to spend the development time & costs of re-building the WinFax PDK link, or perhaps they were told of Symantec's plans of discontinuing WinFax.  Old-timers here will remember that ACT! was once owned by Symantec, and when they also purchased Delrina in 1995, they took ownership of WinFax PRO. Cross-development between both products was made easy.  Even before WinFax was owned by Symantec, ACT! had a direct link to WinFax so it wasn't a Symantec specific initiative.  When ACT! was sold off, it was the responsibility of the new developer to continue supporting WinFax within their software, not Symantec.  The PDK is openly available to developers so it wasn't something they couldn't have accomplished.

 

New Member
Posts: 8
Country: United States

Re: Winfax

[ Edited ]

richard @ monarch wrote:

It seems like once Act left 6.0 they said goodby to faxing. Last month is a Act Seminar on 10.0, I asked how can I fax from 10.0 like I did with 6.0. Over 1/2 of my customers use fax and not e-mail.

Was told by Act personnel that I was outdate and old school. They had no idea how to do it.

I doubt any version of Act after 6.0 will do any broadcast faxing. I am putting a version on 6.0 on anther computer just to broadcast fax.

Richard Matthews


 

Richard,  I don't know a single business that doesn't have some sort of fax sending and receiving capability.  Outdated you are not, these people who told you that are just out of touch with reality.  I deal with businesses every day that use *and rely on* fax in addition to e-mail. 

BTW, FaxAdmin does work with WinFax PRO 10.03 & ACT! (after version 6.0) for merge faxing. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Message Edited by WinFaxExpert on 04-02-2009 12:01 PM
Platinum Elite Contributor
Posts: 6,652
Country: USA

Re: Winfax

Sorry, I have to disagree. I worked in ACT! technical support for 11 years and I am an ACT! expert. The ACT! program did add some special links ( I think it was at ACT! 4) to allow ACT! to add the ACT! address book to WinFax, you previously had to go into WinFax to do that, that was the extent of the additional support that the ACT! program provided for the connection to the ACT! program. As I stated before, the actual merge was controlled by WinFax via the ACT! SDK. In fact, the first version of Microsoft fax would work with the ACT! program similar to the way that WinFax worked. However, that first version of Microsoft fax was so buggy that Microsoft licensed a fax program from someone else and that no longer would connect to the ACT! program.

 

Symantec ended all significant development for WinFax in 1999. When Windows XP first came out, WinFax would no longer connect to the ACT! program. It went almost a year before they modified WinFax (version 10.0.3) to work with the ACT! program on XP. With ACT! 2005, version 7, the ACT! program was completely rewritten and switched from the codebase database engine to MSSQL with an all new SDK. The SDk has all the hooks needed for a faxing program to link to the ACT! program so the opening is there for WinFax or some other fax program to link to the ACT! program.

Roy Laudenslager
ACT! Certified Consultant
ACT! Report Expert
Durkin Impact Report Designer
www.techbenders.com
royel@techbenders.com
541-343-8129