Community
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 

Which CRM?

Which CRM?

[ Edited ]

Hello all,

I'm brand new to CRM and trying to work out what would be best for me to use. The main options I'm thinking of are SugarCRM, vtiger and ACT. It seems very hard to know the actual difference between all of these versions without going through the process of putting your data into them and seeing how well you can configure it.

My hope is that if I tell you what I'm currently using and what I hope to gain from a CRM then someone on here could advise me on my options.

My preference is generally for Open Source software. That said, I know that the cost of open source is often time, so setting up something completely new which is unfamiliar to me may be easier with a paid option?

I am an entertainer in the UK and get gigs via work of mouth, advertisements and the internet.

I currently use Sunbird to store all of the dates of gigs and potential gigs.

I use an Open Office spreadsheet to store contact details of all of my enquiries and bookings

I use Open Office writer to manually create deposit and final invoices (which sometimes need VAT adding and sometimes have VAT included) when I then email out as PDF's.

I use Thunderbird for all email exchanges.

I have signed up to MailChimp for newsletter creation, but haven't used it yet.

For things like to do lists, I use various text files. Used to be into GTD, but found the process laborious and unhelpful, so I now do my own much simplified version. I understand that some CRM packages (all?) can be used for reminding you about tasks that need to be done etc. If that was the case, I'd probably have any client related task in the CRM system and keep everything else in my own system.

It would be useful to have reminders which tell me to do X a few days before a gig and Y a few hours before, but I've never worked out how to do this in Sunbird or anything else. Maybe CRM could help here?