Community
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply

Want to use an Act 10.0.1.199 database in 2010 Version 12.0.409.0

Accepted Solution Solved
Copper Super Contributor
Posts: 16
Country: United Kingdom
Accepted Solution

Want to use an Act 10.0.1.199 database in 2010 Version 12.0.409.0

Want one new database on a network drive to allow 3 Act12 users to use database simultaneously.

 

Want to use an act database (1400 records) from a previous single user Act 10 for this purpose.

 

Presently Act 12 will not recognise the Act 10 database.

 

Have tried backing up and then restoring into new format.

 

Have tried exporting contacts into comma delimited file and importing that.

 

Nothing seems to work yet.

 

Advice required.

 


Accepted Solutions
Solution
Accepted by gmartin (Platinum Super Contributor)
‎09-25-2015 03:20 AM
Copper Super Contributor
Posts: 16
Country: United Kingdom

Re: Want to use an Act 10.0.1.199 database in 2010 Version 12.0.409.0

Thanks Greig,

 

That was interesting. We also put in a call to Sage UK Technical help who were good and we managed to get our network working for ACT!.


We now have two computers and one database shared between them, two seperate users, and we are both able to open ACT! ok.

View solution in original post


All Replies
Platinum Elite Contributor
Posts: 14,384
Country: Australia

Re: Want to use an Act 10.0.1.199 database in 2010 Version 12.0.409.0

The correct way is - Backup from the ACT! 10 system the Restore | Restore As to the ACT! 12 system. It should convert the database to the later format.

 

What happens when you try that

Copper Super Contributor
Posts: 16
Country: United Kingdom

Re: Want to use an Act 10.0.1.199 database in 2010 Version 12.0.409.0

Hi Mike,

 

It backs up ok to a zip file .. about half the size of the original database file.

 

When trying to restore using the new Act 12 there are more options, I have not yet tried them all.

 

There is - restore | restore as | unpack and restore remote database

 

Just going to have a play with them, hope there is a way through there.

Platinum Elite Contributor
Posts: 14,384
Country: Australia

Re: Want to use an Act 10.0.1.199 database in 2010 Version 12.0.409.0

Copper Super Contributor
Posts: 16
Country: United Kingdom

Re: Want to use an Act 10.0.1.199 database in 2010 Version 12.0.409.0

I got some strange responses:

 

1) The backup of this database can only be restored on the machine used to create it.

 

2) You are attempting to restore to a non local drive X:\. Restoring to a non local drive is not supported. please specify a drive local to your machine.

 

So I restored the database to mymachine and it seems to have come through as an Act12 database now.

 

But it is on my local machine. I want it to be on a network drive so that other users can have access to it even when my machine is switched off.

 

 

 

Platinum Elite Contributor
Posts: 14,384
Country: Australia

Re: Want to use an Act 10.0.1.199 database in 2010 Version 12.0.409.0

1. This would be if you used Restore instead of Restore_As

 

2. Then you need to restore it on the actual server

Copper Super Contributor
Posts: 16
Country: United Kingdom

Re: Want to use an Act 10.0.1.199 database in 2010 Version 12.0.409.0

Hi again Mike

 

Thanks for your help. I did in the end use "restore as" which worked but only to the local machine.

 

 

"2. Then you need to restore it on the actual server "

 

But I suppose that means that I have to install one of my 3 seats of Act software on the server in order to locally restore there.

Or is that misunderstanding it?

 

I looked at exporting the database to a network drive but it seems there has to already be a file there for it to export to .. ?

 

 

Platinum Elite Contributor
Posts: 14,384
Country: Australia

Re: Want to use an Act 10.0.1.199 database in 2010 Version 12.0.409.0

Copper Super Contributor
Posts: 16
Country: United Kingdom

Re: Want to use an Act 10.0.1.199 database in 2010 Version 12.0.409.0

Thank you for the link Mike, I have had a read there.

 

Where I am now is that I have ACT! 12 on my computer and an ACT! 12 dbase on my machine.


We believe that we need some kind of sql server upgrade to our network to enable ACT! 12 on our network.

 

So we are testing that shortly.

Copper Super Contributor
Posts: 16
Country: United Kingdom

Re: Want to use an Act 10.0.1.199 database in 2010 Version 12.0.409.0

I am assuming that it is possible to have an ACT! 12 database on a network drive and have three users each with the software ACT! 13 on their machines, working on and sharing the database on the network drive?

 

That is possible yes?