Community
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply

WHY? Is this the case with ACT2013 and v16? -> You cannot import or export data between the two Editions of ACT!: pro to premium

Nickel Elite Contributor
Posts: 934
Country: USA

WHY? Is this the case with ACT2013 and v16? -> You cannot import or export data between the two Editions of ACT!: pro to premium

You cannot import or export data between the two Editions of ACT!: ACT! for Windows (Standard) and ACT Premium for Workgroups.

Why is this? What exactly is the problem and results of doing this please? Mostly WHY is this the case? Especially after all these years of ACT!?

 

This statement is mentioned under the general guidelines for best practices for importing exporting  from 1 act pro db to another act premium db.    http://kb.swiftpage.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/17539/kw/exporting%20database%20practices 

Thanks for any help - Cheers - FSB

Bill Williams - Owner/Consultant/Trainer at Fill Staff "ACT! FOR RECRUITERS"
Manage Your ACT! Backups http://fillstaff.com/backupfolderspro.html - FREE
BIG ACT! LAYOUTS for Larger Monitors www.bigactlayouts.com
Protect your Files & Folders with Folder Lock Pro by New Software http://download.cnet.com/Folder-Lock/3000-2092_4-10063343.html
Moderator
Posts: 719
Country: USA

Re: WHY? Is this the case with ACT2013 and v16? -> You cannot import or export data between the two Editions of ACT!: pro to premium

The reason that you cannot import/export between databases from different versions of Act! is because each version of Act! includes database schema updates. Those database schema updates are put in place for database security, efficiency, and compliance with Microsoft. In order for the databases to communicate with each other, they must both be on the same schema, so it is necessary to upgrade the lower one, since there is no downgrade path. 

 

Unfortunately, there is no way to import the data from a newer version to an older version. The best option I could suggest would be to use an Excel export from the newer version and import that to the older version. While this will not allow you to do notes/histories, it will at least allow you to get all the contacts' field data. 

 

If you have a machine that has a newer version of Act! than the database you wish to import into it, you can create a copy of the database to put on the machine that has the newer version, upgrade the copy, then import from it.

Elise O'Pry
Swiftpage
Visit our knowledgebase at http://kb.act.com
Nickel Elite Contributor
Posts: 934
Country: USA

Re: WHY? Is this the case with ACT2013 and v16? -> You cannot import or export data between the two Editions of ACT!: pro to premium

Ellise,

Thanks for responding, but I am not trying to import from a newer version of act! into a older version of ACT!.

It is the other way around and I understand why we mite not be able to import from premium to pro, but why are there so many problems trying to import from older version of act! Pro( that has been updated to newer customer version and did a files save empty copy stuff)  and  into a newer version of act! premium?

ex: My customer purchases my act!2011 Pro database

Then we install it on his pc that is running act!2012 Premium,

  then we let their act!2012 Premium update the 2011 pro db to their current version of act! on their pc.

     then we perform a File save empty copy

then we try to import from their old act!2012 Premium database into the newly updated act!2012 Premium Empty Copy database on their pc. 

So that should work? yes no?

Using csv has limits as to how many notes it can hold in a cell and does not copy histories ?

Using Tab delimited txt works but seems to loose or corrupt records after a point.

I've read multiple kb articles and forum post regarding this task. So what is the solution to get ACT! db 11,000 contact records and their notes and histories? then getting company records to link to contact records and then the Groups and their links into another Newer act! db?. Sometimes the process seems to work and sometimes not? Then you can pay som1 $1500 to do it for you.

 

Bill Williams - Owner/Consultant/Trainer at Fill Staff "ACT! FOR RECRUITERS"
Manage Your ACT! Backups http://fillstaff.com/backupfolderspro.html - FREE
BIG ACT! LAYOUTS for Larger Monitors www.bigactlayouts.com
Protect your Files & Folders with Folder Lock Pro by New Software http://download.cnet.com/Folder-Lock/3000-2092_4-10063343.html
Moderator
Posts: 719
Country: USA

Re: WHY? Is this the case with ACT2013 and v16? -> You cannot import or export data between the two Editions of ACT!: pro to premium

Oh, I'm sorry. I misunderstood. 

 

You should be able to import a Pro database into a Premium database (I can at least confirm this with v16), but you can't export to a Pro database from a Premium database because there are extra system fields and database security settings that are not compatible with Pro. 

 

However, you should be able to take a database that was created in a Pro version, then upgrade it to Premium and import/export freely between it and another Premium database. Likewise, you shouldn't have a problem importing into an empty copy of that upgraded database either, unless there are corruption problems with content in the source database. The groups should still remain intact, as well as the companies if you do a full database import.

 

Are you experiencing errors when trying to import these contacts? If so, what are they? This may be able to better provide an answer to accomplishing this.

Elise O'Pry
Swiftpage
Visit our knowledgebase at http://kb.act.com
Nickel Elite Contributor
Posts: 934
Country: USA

Re: WHY? Is this the case with ACT2013 and v16? -> You cannot import or export data between the two Editions of ACT!: pro to premium

Thank you again for responding,

At first my customer indicated a successful import of Contact records and we then imported the remaining items Companies, Groups. We did not need to import any opportunities.

Then my customer reports that the Contact Record Notes and Histories did not import correctly. Mainly he was interested in Contact record Notes and Histories. I do not know the details beyond that as we had to put things on hold until he can take time to work on the task.

If we can get those Contact Record Notes & Histories, we shoud be ok? Did I forget something? Any Ideas?  - FSB

Bill Williams - Owner/Consultant/Trainer at Fill Staff "ACT! FOR RECRUITERS"
Manage Your ACT! Backups http://fillstaff.com/backupfolderspro.html - FREE
BIG ACT! LAYOUTS for Larger Monitors www.bigactlayouts.com
Protect your Files & Folders with Folder Lock Pro by New Software http://download.cnet.com/Folder-Lock/3000-2092_4-10063343.html
Moderator
Posts: 719
Country: USA

Re: WHY? Is this the case with ACT2013 and v16? -> You cannot import or export data between the two Editions of ACT!: pro to premium

When you do the import, all of the notes and histories should come through, unless there is corrupted data. One thing you can try to do is run maintenance on the source database before importing it into or exporting it into another database

 

See http://kb.swiftpage.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/19642 for information on maintenance. 

 

 

If any Notes and histories cannot be imported, it will show a report of them in the Import Log. you can access this immediately after the import by clicking "View Import Log", or you can manually pull it up by browsing to it.

 

See http://kb.swiftpage.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/27976 for information on Import Logs

 

That may give more information on what is happening for those Notes and Histories that don't seem to be coming across.

Elise O'Pry
Swiftpage
Visit our knowledgebase at http://kb.act.com