Community
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 

VPN access

Accepted Solution Solved
Accepted Solution

VPN access

Hello, we are a telecom interconnect company and as a tech, I am frequently out of the office, sometimes even across the state.  I have just finished setting up a VPN for some of us to access our network remotely.  Everything works EXCEPT Act!  Every time I try to access our database on the server (I can see the files in explorer), it keeps telling me "The last database opened cannot be located".  When the open database dialouge appears, and I click on the .pad file, I get: "The database Anavon could not be accessed.  In order to access this database, check your network connection and verify that your database server is available.  It may be necessary to disable any firewall software on your computer or the server"

This is a very frustrating problem.  No firewall is running on the server, and I get the same thing whether or not I have the firewall on my computer running (and ACT is listed as an exception in any case).  Can anyone help me with this?  Does a port need to be forwarded in the router?

Accepted Solutions
Solution
Accepted by topic author jordonj
‎09-25-2015 03:20 AM

Re: VPN access

Just want to make sure that Share Database is enabled from Tools > Database Maintenance and SQL Server Browser service is started on the server.

If all of those are enabled, try the steps below on the server.

- Close ACT!

- Go to Start and select Run.

- Type in actdiag and click Ok.

- Select Database > Database List and highlight your database.

- Then right click > Database Fixes > Datastore Location

- Enabled IP Address, select the correct IP on the right and click Ok

- Attempt to access shared db through VPN.

View solution in original post

All Replies