Community
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply

V16 PRO SP3

Accepted Solution Solved
Copper Super Contributor
Posts: 37
Country: United States
Accepted Solution

V16 PRO SP3

As usual even though I've had ACT! check for updates it always says I have the latest version - I went to the website and found a couple of Service Patch releases and Hotfixes - of course there are no instructions that's very frustrating - come on Swiftpage get your ACT pun intended together.

 

So my version of ACT says Hotfix 2 - I can't tell if I have SP1, SP2, or SP3 - I downloaded each and tried to run it - when SP1 is extracted it says I'm already running a later version - same with SP2 - when SP3 runs it says that I have to uninstall the current version.  REALLY???

 

This is VERY FRUSTRATING - I did this in an earlier update and it hosed my ACT! install completely - I had to reinstall an older version -

 

First of all - updates should be easy and done directly from the program - if there are patch releases could you provide some instructions/procedures for installing???  My God, you're a software company - and your focus always seems to be pushing us to the next release when there are so many things already wrong and buggy. 

 

I just want to have the latest version of the software that I paid for - without having to uninstall and reinstall and work blind with no procedures on what needs to be done...

 

I get put off asking me to purchase an upgrade at a hefty price when you haven't fixed the isses in the previous version - each version should be an IMPROVEMENT - there are a lot of online businesses that can easily start taking your market share - they work, are relatively bug free - and just help you get your job done and provide access from any device - all without extra charge.

 

Can someone just tell me the procedure for upgrading to SP3?  Does it fix bugs and improve stability?  Or is this just a tremendous waste of time and effort that will hose my current install again???  

 

 


Accepted Solutions
Solution
Accepted by topic author dgrana1
‎09-25-2015 03:20 AM
Bronze Super Contributor
Posts: 1,543
Country: United_Kingdom

Re: V16 PRO SP3

You have Act! v16 Service Patch 3 Hot Fix 2 so no need to update to SP3.

David Shaw
Act! Certified Consultant since 2001
Office:    +44 (0)1483 714507
Mobile: +44 (0)7977 567 318
E-Mail:    dshaw@act4u.org 

View solution in original post


All Replies
Bronze Super Contributor
Posts: 1,543
Country: United_Kingdom

Re: V16 PRO SP3

If you have SP1 or 2 etc it should say in Help | About Act! something like 14.1 or 14.2 etc. as well as which HF is installed.

HTH

David Shaw
Act! Certified Consultant since 2001
Office:    +44 (0)1483 714507
Mobile: +44 (0)7977 567 318
E-Mail:    dshaw@act4u.org 
Copper Super Contributor
Posts: 37
Country: United States

Re: V16 PRO SP3

My about ACT is showing 16.3.11.0, Hot Fix 2 - but I can't find any information on which Service Patches to apply and then should I apply Hot Fixes to those???  I can't seem to find any information that explains which should be applied when.  And do you have to uninstall ACT! - download the SP release - install that???  SwiftPage has made this very confusing with no info on the appropriate installation steps...

Solution
Accepted by topic author dgrana1
‎09-25-2015 03:20 AM
Bronze Super Contributor
Posts: 1,543
Country: United_Kingdom

Re: V16 PRO SP3

You have Act! v16 Service Patch 3 Hot Fix 2 so no need to update to SP3.

David Shaw
Act! Certified Consultant since 2001
Office:    +44 (0)1483 714507
Mobile: +44 (0)7977 567 318
E-Mail:    dshaw@act4u.org 
Copper Super Contributor
Posts: 37
Country: United States

Re: V16 PRO SP3

Ok thanks - that helps.