Community
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 

Using Checkmarks for Yes/No Fields in reports

Tuned Listener

Using Checkmarks for Yes/No Fields in reports

Hi

Apologies, I have searched for the answer to no luck and hopefully someone can help me with this tedious problem.

I am new to scripting and cannot get the following to work within the reports section; 

If Wasexpectingourcall1 = -1 Then Custom1.Text=chr(254) 
Else 
Custom1.Text=chr(168) 
End If

What I get is the result of the Else command and nothing else i.e chr(168), irrespective of whats in the field.

The field names are correct as I have them copied from the properties box.

Any help would be greatly appreciated - I am using ACT 2009.

Mark 
Tuned Listener

Re: Using Checkmarks for Yes/No Fields in reports

Is there anymore information that I can supply to help with this enquiry?

Thanks in advance. 

Tuned Listener

Incidentally, the above script came from the Sage Quickstudy guide.
Platinum Elite Contributor

The information is generally valid but incomplete and outdated. First, you did not indicate the font assigned to the custom field. The symbol portion of the character map varies with each font so it's important that you are using the font that relates to the symbols that you want to use. Second, the character notation that you used is the old Octal notation and Windows quit using Octal some time back and switched to Hexadecimal so you would need to go to the Windows character map for the font you want to use and find the correct hexadecimal number for the symbol you want to use. Another change, the test for the Yes/no field is now "Yes" or "No".

Rather than mess with trying to put a check symbol in the box, why not make the box border solid and then use X or space. The same script would work and it's a lot simpler.

Roy Laudenslager
ACT! Certified Consultant
ACT! Report Expert
Durkin Impact Report Designer
www.techbenders.com
royel@techbenders.com
541-343-8129