Community
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply

Using ACT! 2009 with database on server

Accepted Solution Solved
Tuned Listener
Posts: 35
Country: United States
Accepted Solution

Using ACT! 2009 with database on server

Is it possible to set up a shared "main" database on a server with ACT! 2009? I tried to create one in a server folder, but didn't seem to work.

 

We only have 2 users, each with their own ACT! 2009.

 

A shared database on the server seems better than sharing the database on one of the user's computers.

 

Thanks!


Accepted Solutions
Solution
Accepted by topic author mikecaines
‎09-25-2015 03:20 AM
Platinum Elite Contributor
Posts: 6,651
Country: USA

Re: Using ACT! 2009 with database on server

No. ACT! installs its own instance of the SQL server.
Roy Laudenslager
ACT! Certified Consultant
ACT! Report Expert
Durkin Impact Report Designer
www.techbenders.com
royel@techbenders.com
541-343-8129

View solution in original post


All Replies
Platinum Elite Contributor
Posts: 6,651
Country: USA

Re: Using ACT! 2009 with database on server

The database can be hosted on a server but the ACT! program must be installed on the server also. No additional licenses are required.
Roy Laudenslager
ACT! Certified Consultant
ACT! Report Expert
Durkin Impact Report Designer
www.techbenders.com
royel@techbenders.com
541-343-8129
Tuned Listener
Posts: 35
Country: United States

Re: Using ACT! 2009 with database on server

Roy,

 

Thanks for the info! Does ACT! have to be kept running on the server too?

 

Mike

Platinum Elite Contributor
Posts: 6,651
Country: USA

Re: Using ACT! 2009 with database on server

No unless you were syncing with the standard version. You actually access the database on the SQL server which would be running any time the server is powered up. Because the database is always open, you also want to setup the ACT! Scheduler service and program it for regular backups.
Roy Laudenslager
ACT! Certified Consultant
ACT! Report Expert
Durkin Impact Report Designer
www.techbenders.com
royel@techbenders.com
541-343-8129
Tuned Listener
Posts: 35
Country: United States

Re: Using ACT! 2009 with database on server

Hi Roy,

 

Interesting! We have SQL Server 2005 already installed and running on our server. Maybe it can handle this? I might be getting beyond my depth technically (smile)

 

Thanks!

Mike

Solution
Accepted by topic author mikecaines
‎09-25-2015 03:20 AM
Platinum Elite Contributor
Posts: 6,651
Country: USA

Re: Using ACT! 2009 with database on server

No. ACT! installs its own instance of the SQL server.
Roy Laudenslager
ACT! Certified Consultant
ACT! Report Expert
Durkin Impact Report Designer
www.techbenders.com
royel@techbenders.com
541-343-8129
Tuned Listener
Posts: 35
Country: United States

Re: Using ACT! 2009 with database on server

Roy,

 

Thanks a lot for your help!

 

Mike

New Member
Posts: 2
Country: United States

Re: Using ACT! 2009 with database on server

Roy,

 

Can you give me some insight into using a database on a server?

 

I have a problem when I try to install the Act on the server. I says my server is compressed and wont allow the installation. What can I do about that. Or can I make my computer the "go to" point for others to access.  We are just three users, accessing database within the office setting. Our older version (act 2000!, Yikes) allowed us to cut and paste the database on to the server, finished. What's the best way for a computer novice to access this database.

 

 

Tuned Listener
Posts: 35
Country: United States

Re: Using ACT! 2009 with database on server

What we did was avoid the server, and since we only have two users, I used my PC as the "server" and shared the database and its folder on my PC. Seems to work fine.
New Member
Posts: 2
Country: United States

Re: Using ACT! 2009 with database on server

Mike

Thanks very much. That worked!

 

Matt