Community
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply

Upgrading from Act 6 to Act 2008

Copper Contributor
Posts: 17
Country: United States

Upgrading from Act 6 to Act 2008

Is it possible to upgrade Act 6 to Act 2008? If so, What problems might we encounter? Thank you.
Platinum Elite Contributor
Posts: 14,384
Country: Australia

Re: Upgrading from Act 6 to Act 2008

New Member
Posts: 24
Country: Canada

Re: Upgrading from Act 6 to Act 2008

This is by no means a technical answer but a few days ago, I had to upgrade my aging laptop and the new one came with Vista which meant upgrading from my Act 8.0 (2006) to Act 10.  I have to say everything seems to have converted fine and I was up and running in no time.  I wish the rest of my setup with Microsoft office etc went this smoothly.

The only issue I had (Mike from above helped me with it on another thread) was that Vista comes with a new email program called Windows Mail and does not have Outlook Express.  Act does not recognize the new mail program so I have to now use Outlook instead of express.  I don't know if that is applicable to you or not.

Copper Contributor
Posts: 99
Country: USA

Re: Upgrading from Act 6 to Act 2008


Goodwyn wrote:
Is it possible to upgrade Act 6 to Act 2008? If so, What problems might we encounter? Thank you.

I recently upgraded an ACT! 6 database to 2008 with 60,000+ contacts and 10 years worth of history, and it converted without a hitch.  In most cases, you shouldn't have a problem.  I would compress and reindex your old database in ACT! 6 first, but it was always a good idea to do that every couple weeks in version 6 anyway.

Best Regards,


Chuck
Copper Contributor
Posts: 17
Country: United States

Re: Upgrading from Act 6 to Act 2008

Thank you all for your replies. It is probably going to take a few months to get our new equipment, software, etc... before we convert but I wanted to start preparing now.
Platinum Elite Contributor
Posts: 14,384
Country: Australia

Re: Upgrading from Act 6 to Act 2008

The only times there are problems is if there is corruption in the ACT! 6.0 database... usually the ACTDIAG Maintenance will take care of it.

 

If you want the best check of an ACT! 6.0 database, I recommend running Red Flags before the conversion. For the price, it can save a lot of stress.

 

http://www.cornerstonesolutions.com/redflag.html

Tuned Listener
Posts: 41
Country: USA

Re: Upgrading from Act 6 to Act 2008

I wouldn't do it.  I've been dealing with a major problem for two weeks, and just got word from Database Repair that they can't fix it.  Now I'm stuck!  I never should've upgraded!

 

Check these out:

 

http://www.amazon.com/review/product/B000HLRAJG/ref=dp_top_cm_cr_acr_txt?%5Fencoding=UTF8&showViewpoints=1

 

http://www.contactplus.com/products/freestuff/act.htm

 

Jeff