Community
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply

Unlock the database?

Accepted Solution Solved
vb
Copper Contributor
Posts: 36
Country: USA
Accepted Solution

Unlock the database?

I have a new install of Act 2011 on Windows 7.

 

I just locked the database for a design layout update.  I am an administrator.  This is the first time the database has been locked since installation.

 

I can't figure out how to UNLOCK the database.  When I choose Tools, Database Maint, Lock/Unlock Database, the UNLOCK button is grayed out.

 

The database says it is still locked down in the lower right.

 

Why?  Help?


Accepted Solutions
Solution
Accepted by topic author vb
‎09-25-2015 03:20 AM
vb
Copper Contributor
Posts: 36
Country: USA

Re: Unlock the database?

Thank you that fixed it.

 

I do consider this a bug.  It was a brand new install of 2011 and the first time I made a layout change it did this.

 

Which begs the question?

 

Where does Sage take bug reports for Act? 

View solution in original post


All Replies
Platinum Elite Contributor
Posts: 6,537
Country: USA

Re: Unlock the database?

Hello vb,

You can try unlocking the database using ACT! Diagnostics. This will need to be done locally at the machine hosting the database, not from a client machine. Here are the steps:

 

- Close ACT!

- Click the Windows Start button

- In the Search box on the start menu, type in actdiag

- When ACT! Diagnostics opens, click Databases, then Database List

- Locate your database on the list, then click to the left of it to highlight it

- Right-click on the database and select Unlock Database

- Close the utilityy, then re-open ACT! and your database

Greig Hollister

Note: Effective 6/1/13, Sage no longers provides support for the Act! software. This is now provided by Swiftpage.

Solution
Accepted by topic author vb
‎09-25-2015 03:20 AM
vb
Copper Contributor
Posts: 36
Country: USA

Re: Unlock the database?

Thank you that fixed it.

 

I do consider this a bug.  It was a brand new install of 2011 and the first time I made a layout change it did this.

 

Which begs the question?

 

Where does Sage take bug reports for Act? 

Platinum Elite Contributor
Posts: 6,537
Country: USA

Re: Unlock the database?

I'm not yet sure this a product issue, as I have not been able to reproduce it. I will try some additional testing and report it if it proves to be an issue with the program. Also, this forum is the best place to report issues that we can test.

Greig Hollister

Note: Effective 6/1/13, Sage no longers provides support for the Act! software. This is now provided by Swiftpage.

Bronze Elite Contributor
Posts: 3,287
Country: USA

Re: Unlock the database?

i have a customer that can't unlock a database.  it's a SQL issue and thus an ACT issue...  that said. i don't know what to do to unlock something that won't unlock.

 

must be a flag in the database??  where??

-MM
World Famous ACT! Certified Consultant @ www.ActiveSales.net
New Member
Posts: 3
Country: United States

Re: Unlock the database?

I have the same problem but when I run ACTdiag the particular database that locked, isn't on the list with my other databases.  I can find the folder doing a search of my C drive, just can't open it.

Nickel Elite Contributor
Posts: 934
Country: USA

Re: Unlock the database?

[ Edited ]

You might try this?

From your My documents - ACT Databases folder

Instead of opening the .pad file type, try opening the .alf file type. Or try the .ADF file type.?

 

Also if that fails,

If you have time and if you have a Current ACT! database Backup;

 Try creating a new ACT database from a prev ACT! db backup

   by using the ACT! File Restore database, Restore AS; option.

Cheers - FSB

 

 

Bill Williams - Owner/Consultant/Trainer at Fill Staff "ACT! FOR RECRUITERS"
Manage Your ACT! Backups http://fillstaff.com/backupfolderspro.html - FREE
BIG ACT! LAYOUTS for Larger Monitors www.bigactlayouts.com
Protect your Files & Folders with Folder Lock Pro by New Software http://download.cnet.com/Folder-Lock/3000-2092_4-10063343.html
New Member
Posts: 1
Country: USA

Re: Unlock the database?

tried this and got unhandled exception

Nickel Elite Contributor
Posts: 934
Country: USA

Re: Unlock the database?

[ Edited ]

Hello Chuck,

 

You appear to be a new poster on this thread.

You were not  clear about what your error msg was or what exactly it was you tried in this thread.

Not clear about your error msg about unhandled exception ....nothing specific.

Reference

http://community.act.com/t5/Act/PLEASE-READ-THIS-BEFORE-YOU-MAKE-A-NEW-POST/td-p/233496

 

More info on the Knowledgebase page

http://kb.swiftpage.com/app/answers/list/kw/unhandled%20exception/sno/1/search/1/session/L3RpbWUvMTQ...

 

Help us help you. Cheers - Bill

Bill Williams - Owner/Consultant/Trainer at Fill Staff "ACT! FOR RECRUITERS"
Manage Your ACT! Backups http://fillstaff.com/backupfolderspro.html - FREE
BIG ACT! LAYOUTS for Larger Monitors www.bigactlayouts.com
Protect your Files & Folders with Folder Lock Pro by New Software http://download.cnet.com/Folder-Lock/3000-2092_4-10063343.html