Community
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply

Unable to synchronize Act 2009

New Member
Posts: 6
Country: Canada

Unable to synchronize Act 2009

When users are trying to synchronize their Act 2009 database with the server database, they get the following message: «Sync result / Unable to acquire Sync Server object. Servor Error Description: User is not permitted to sync. Contact your administrator for assistance».

 

I don't know if it could be related to the fact that just before we got this message, we deleted a user from the users list. This user was not a valid user since it was entered by mistake in the list.

New Member
Posts: 6
Country: Canada

Re: Unable to synchronize Act 2009

We think that we have found the source of our problem.

1. One of our employee mistakenly modified the Contact name in one of our two licenses for active users. It went from  Ventes (contact name)/Ventes (user name) to Christian Lagueux (contact name)/Ventes (user name).

2. We deleted that user thinking it was created by mistake. We realized to late that only the contact name was modified by mistake.

3.We tried to recreate the user Ventes. In the Manage Users box, it is written that we have enough license for one additional active user but we cannot find the information required to give that license to the user Ventes.

4.We make back-ups of our system every night. So we make a restoration of Act as it was on Friday but it didn't work.  Is it possible that the users database is not at the same place as the program itself?

Platinum Super Contributor
Posts: 5,275
Country: USA

Re: Unable to synchronize Act 2009

Hello Beewhy,

Welcome to the Sage ACT! Online Community!

I glad to hear you were able to determine the cause of the error, unfortunate set of circumstances...

 

The database itself is not generally kept with the program files, by default it will be under the All Users/Shared Documents/ACT... folder.  By opening the database, clicking Help > About ACT! > Database Information, you can determine the exact location.

 

Depending on how your backup is created and how it overwrites the original database - you may have to reset synchronization and recreate all of your remotes.  After restoring the database files (ADF, ALF, 'database files' folder), check the synchronization panel to determine if the existing remotes are still listed.  If not, you will need to recreate them.

Greg Martin
Sage
New Member
Posts: 6
Country: Canada

Re: Unable to synchronize Act 2009

Greg,

We restored Act to the way it was on last Friday. As you said, all the remotes have disapeared from the synchronization panel and Users list.

 

How do we recreate the list of remote users and synchronize their database with the server?

Platinum Super Contributor
Posts: 5,275
Country: USA

Re: Unable to synchronize Act 2009

At this point you are starting over with remotes.  The existing remotes will no longer sync to the main database.

 

- You will need to recreate any users that are no longer listed: KB Article 19474

- You will then need to enable synchronization (if not already enabled), create sync sets, and create new remotes: KB Article 14116

 

Since the original remotes will no longer sync to the new/restored main database, you can back up the remotes and restore them on the same computer with the new main.  You will use the 'Restore As' option when restoring:  KB Article 19211

Once the remotes are restored, you can import them into the new main database: KB Article 17539

Note: If you are going to import the old remotes into the new main, it is highly recommended to do this before creating the new remotes.  This is to prevent having to synchronize all of the updates created by the import(s).

Greg Martin
Sage
New Member
Posts: 6
Country: Canada

Re: Unable to synchronize Act 2009

Greg,

 

Before trying to revcreate any user, I have found that we have 4 PAD files on the server. I have located the one that we are working with usually and it has all the users listed, just like it was before the restoration.

 

Now the problem that we have is that when we check «Accept incoming sync» we got this message: Could not start sync server. ACT! encountered an error, please check that sync server port is able to listen for incoming connections. The incoming port is 65122; we don't see this port in the ports list from the cmd.exe.

 

Can we use any ports for the sync and, if we ca, do we have to change any settings on each remote user access?

Platinum Super Contributor
Posts: 5,275
Country: USA

Re: Unable to synchronize Act 2009

Hopefully this database will work, it will save you a lot of time!

You can use any port number. Default is 65100, we change to 65200 quite often.

You will have to make a change on each remote (change one and test):
- Click Tools, select Synchronization Panel
- Click Manage Database Information
- Update port number
- Save change and test sync
Greg Martin
Sage
New Member
Posts: 6
Country: Canada

Re: Unable to synchronize Act 2009

Greg,

 

Finally, Act work as it was before except for one thing: everynight, our server goes on standby and closes all programs.

So every morning we have to restart Act on the server. The problem is that we have to go in Tools/Synchronize and check Accept Incoming Syncs each time we restart the program, it doesn't stay checked as it was before.

 

How could we make that checked permanent?

Platinum Super Contributor
Posts: 5,275
Country: USA

Re: Unable to synchronize Act 2009

The share option not remaining enabled can be from a several things; here is an article with instructions: KB Article 24235

Greg Martin
Sage
New Member
Posts: 6
Country: Canada

Re: Unable to synchronize Act 2009

The problem is not about sharing but about synchronizing.

 

Each user can synchronize but as explained in my previous message, each time we reopen Act on the server, we have to check Accept Incoming Syncs for each user to be able to synchronize, it does not remain as it was when the program is closed.