Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 

Unable to share ACT 2009 database from Windows 7 server

Accepted Solution Solved
Accepted Solution

Unable to share ACT 2009 database from Windows 7 server

[ Edited ]

Hello all. Here's the situation. I've been running an ACT 2009 database for the past several years over a Windows XP network, no problems. The database files ran out of the public documents folder (c:\documents and settings\All users\documents\ on the server) and all the client computers (five of them) had that folder mapped to drive letter F:.

Recently we started having hard drives come down with various failures, so we decided to upgrade the whole office to more recent hardware, Windows 7 computers. I've switched over some of the client comptuers already, no problem there. When I try to switch over the server, there's a problem. It runs fine if I open the company file locally on the server, but the client computers can't see it. I got a hint from an error message that said it couldn't see the database Supplemental Files.

So to review, in the public documents folder (c:\users\public\Public Documents in Windows 7, or simply F:\ as seen from the client computers) is the subfolder path ACT\ACT for Windows 11\Databases\, and in the Databases folder reside the three files Company.adf, Company.alf, and Company.pad. Also there is a folder called Company-database files, which is the "Supplemental Files" as far as I can determine. I notice on the Windows XP server, the Company-database files is shared, even though it is already within a shared folder. This is redundant, but seems important somehow.