Community
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 

Unable to reinstall ACT 2007

Copper Contributor

Unable to reinstall ACT 2007

I have been running ACT 2007 since 2007 on two PCs running XP Pro with one synchronize db.  Recently the remote PC running ACT in a sync mode has been locking up after launching the application.  I uninstalled and reinstalled the program twice and it still locks up after launch.  Anyone experienced similar problem?

Platinum Super Contributor

Re: Unable to reinstall ACT 2007

Hello Avhawaii51,
Welcome to the Sage ACT! Online Community!

Can you provide additional details to your issue:
At what point is the program locking up? Are you able to get to your contacts? Is it a particular function that causes it to lock up?

Greg Martin
Sage
Copper Contributor

After the splash screen and I am on the main data window, clicking any menu item or field causes it to freeze.

To identify if the issue is specific to the database:
- Close ACT!
- Locate the demo database (C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Documents\ACT\ACT for Windows 9\Databases)
- Double click on demo PAD file
This will launch ACT! and open the demo > test
Greg Martin
Sage

I have a similar propblem with ACT 2007.  My old computer died and I am attempting to re-install ACT 2007 (9.0) on my new desktop.  Initially tried copying ACT directory from old disk to new "C" drive - That did not work.  Then downloaded the ACT 9.0 update file from this site.  It aborts during installation with error message "Z_StrActNotFound". 

HELP!  - I really need to get access to my customer database.  My old computer was running Windows XP, new one is on Windows 7 if that matters.  I was able to locate my customer Serial# and Activation code, but cant get far enough to re-register.

Any ideas on how to get past this error and re-install on my new computer?  (I would prefer not to upgrade, as the old version does everything I need)

Platinum Elite Contributor