Community
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply

Unable to register ACT 2008 - No administrator privileges

New Member
Posts: 27
Country: USA

Unable to register ACT 2008 - No administrator privileges

This might not be the appropriate forum for this, but every time I launch ACT 2008, it askes me to register. I try, and am told I may not because I do not have admin privileges. I am a single license, home user. How could I not have admin privileges on my own computer? I imagine this is a setting I have to change in Windows Vista?
Platinum Elite Contributor
Posts: 14,384
Country: Australia

Re: Unable to register ACT 2008 - No administrator privileges

You need to turn off UAC in Vista to actually have admin access.
 
See this ACT! Knowledge Base article - http://tinyurl.com/2hxvgl
 
This fix might also work, but I find turning off UAC is better - http://tinyurl.com/27vswj
Highlighted
New Member
Posts: 27
Country: USA

Re: Unable to register ACT 2008 - No administrator privileges

Thanks, Mike, this worked.

I have to believe there are many (the majority of?) users who are experiencing this. Why on earth, then, is this not reported as a known issue in Read Me, or someplace else?

Same for the failure of activities to roll over, unless I'm the only one this is happening to.




Craig
Platinum Elite Contributor
Posts: 14,384
Country: Australia

Re: Unable to register ACT 2008 - No administrator privileges

I think it was known after the release, so didn't make the Readme (few read that anyway)... but it is in the Knowledge Base as I posted.
 
The KB is always the best place to check when you have a problem
New Member
Posts: 27
Country: USA

Re: Unable to register ACT 2008 - No administrator privileges

Gotcha, re KB.

Do you think I'd have any luck finding a resolution to my activities rollover issue there?
Platinum Elite Contributor
Posts: 14,384
Country: Australia

Re: Unable to register ACT 2008 - No administrator privileges