Community
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply

Unable to recreate database after moving to new server Act 2011

Accepted Solution Solved
Copper Contributor
Posts: 20
Country: United_Kingdom
Accepted Solution

Unable to recreate database after moving to new server Act 2011

Hi, i have installed act on the new server at work, i backed up the database on the old server, and have restored it on the new, all good so far. But, i am unable to recreate the database for distributing to the clients, the options are all greyed out.

 

am i missing something ?

 

Thanks in advance


Accepted Solutions
Solution
Accepted by topic author racing57
‎09-25-2015 03:20 AM
Copper Contributor
Posts: 20
Country: United_Kingdom

Re: Unable to recreate database after moving to new server Act 2011

Panic over, I realised that the old server had the act web install, and the new had the windows install, uninstalled and reinstalled the web on the new server, and hey presto, I am unable to recreate the database, distribute and connect from a remote pc.

View solution in original post


All Replies
Bronze Super Contributor
Posts: 1,170
Country: USA

Re: Unable to recreate database after moving to new server Act 2011


racing57 wrote:

 But, i am unable to recreate the database for distributing to the clients, the options are all greyed out.

 


What do you mean by this?  Are you talking about syncrhonization settings?

Copper Contributor
Posts: 20
Country: United_Kingdom

Re: Unable to recreate database after moving to new server Act 2011

yes, in the sync panel, I have enabled sycronisation, but my original list of remote databases are not in the list anymore, and I am unable to create new ones ? I was hoping to be able to just recreate the databases, and then distribute the files to the remote clients again.

or is there another way of doing it ?/
Copper Contributor
Posts: 20
Country: United_Kingdom

Re: Unable to recreate database after moving to new server Act 2011

Also, the manage main database location is greyed out, so I cannot change it from the old server to the new ??
Solution
Accepted by topic author racing57
‎09-25-2015 03:20 AM
Copper Contributor
Posts: 20
Country: United_Kingdom

Re: Unable to recreate database after moving to new server Act 2011

Panic over, I realised that the old server had the act web install, and the new had the windows install, uninstalled and reinstalled the web on the new server, and hey presto, I am unable to recreate the database, distribute and connect from a remote pc.