Community
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 

Unable to change admin user

Unable to change admin user

[ Edited ]

Hi, first post here, hopefully my last! My Wife has ACT! by Sage 2010 Version 12.1.181.0, Hot Fix 1 with one license. This is a home install on Windows 7 ultimate  SP1. I am an advanced systems admin and can make changes as they will be needed.

She has been working somewhat restricted in this DB for years and only recently brought this to my attention as she needs to do a bulk import and she cannot because all the admin options are grayed out. She can't make administrative changes or perform many critical functions.

She is licensed for 1 user and there are 2 users. We don't know who the 2nd user is and suspect the name was the original Admin at a previous company which closed their doors 8 years ago. She is a std user and there is another user who we need to remove who is listed as the record manager just about everywhere I look and need to delete that user and make her the record manager.

I have installed a trial of ACT! 2010 and searched for hours this afternoon looking for the method to make changes as I am sure this has occured before.

What do I do to make these changes?

Thank you,

Gnarley

Platinum Elite Contributor

Re: Unable to change admin user

You can see if she's an Admin from Help | About
That will also show the number of licenses

You can use ACTDIAG to find user names as per:
http://kb.swiftpage.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/14150

As noted, She is a std user, I checked this by going to Help | About | Database information

Oh, if she is at least a Manager (you can tell in Help | About), here is another option:

- Create a new database (you will be the admin of this new database)
- Use File > Import option to import the original database into the new database.
- For instructions on importing a database, see this article:
http://kb.swiftpage.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/22042