Community
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 

USING my desktop computer and my portable. computer

USING my desktop computer and my portable. computer

I purchased my ACT! software to monitor my clients - several groups...  I entered these clients into my desktop computer. 

I then entered my ACT! software into my portable computer to take with me when I visited my clients.  How can I transfer information to and from these two computers that I need to use?

Thank you.  Margaret Ann Gnadinger kytuxlady@bellsouth.net

Re: USING my desktop computer and my portable. computer

Hello Margaret,

You can setup application sync to complete this task.  This will provide two way synchronization between the two computers.

Please see the following on-line Knowledge Base (KB) document.
How To Set Up Application Synchronization in ACT!

[ Edited ]

If it's just you and you're trying to mirror your laptop/desktop, there's another way.

Caution: I'm new to ACT, and have only done this once so far for a trip last weekend, but a brand new install of Act on my laptop picked up all my desktop's preferences properly, and I use the general technique with several applications and about 10GB of data. Back up thoroughly first, start with modest amounts of data, and launch the apps, testing thoroughly after going each direction to make sure it's doing what you expect :-)

1) Get ViceVersa Pro from http://tgrmn.com/ and install on your desktop (best $60 I ever spent)

2) If you haven't already, share out your laptop's C drive to yourself with full permissions, and map it to a drive letter on your desktop

3) Set up a sync between desktop and laptop for all files and subfolders in:

- The folder where you stash your database

- C:\Documents and Settings\Your Name\Application Data\ACT\ACT for Windows 10

4) Save your settings as a profile in ViceVersa Pro.