Community
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply

Transferring my Act! 2008 data base to a flash drive to use on my laptop at home

Accepted Solution Solved
Tuned Listener
Posts: 29
Country: United States
Accepted Solution

Transferring my Act! 2008 data base to a flash drive to use on my laptop at home

Helllo.  I am confused at finding the correct process to transfer my ACT! 2008 database to a flash drive, that I can transport to my home and use on my laptop.  I recently upgraded from ACT! 6.  It was a breeze - bring up Windows Explorer and drag / drop my database files to my flash drive.  On the weekends, I would do some data entry, come back to the office Monday and again drag / drop from flash drive to my computer's hard drive.  Bing, bang, boom - done deal.  I am using Windows XP and my ACT! 2008 database is just on my office computer and laptop computer.  They are not networked. 

I have tried to do this with ACT! 2008.  Something seems screwy now.  I saw something about synchronization - looks extremely complicated, compaired to what I have done in the past.  What do I need to do with in ACT! 2008 to replicate what I did in ACT! 6?

 

Also, I went to back up my computer hard drive to a back up drive we have in the office.  I kept getting an error regarding the ACT! 2008 database.  The message said that the information was being used by another computer or program.  I even restarted the computer and shut everything down.  I still got the same error.  Is there a setting I need to adjust in the program?


Accepted Solutions
Solution
Accepted by topic author jlferrell
‎09-25-2015 03:20 AM
Platinum Elite Contributor
Posts: 14,384
Country: Australia

Re: Transferring my Act! 2008 data base to a flash drive to use on my laptop at home

What was the reason Hamachi said you need the Premium version?

 

Can your work IT guys do a port forward from the router to your system?

 

If those are not an option, you might have to look at upgrading to Premium and using a hosted sync server with someone like Brad at http://community.act.com/sage/profile?user.id=1220 - send him a message and see what he says

View solution in original post


All Replies
Platinum Elite Contributor
Posts: 14,384
Country: Australia

Re: Transferring my Act! 2008 data base to a flash drive to use on my laptop at home

No. You can't do that with a SQL database. You can move the database with Backup | Restore | Restore as per this ACT! Knowledge Base article - http://tinyurl.com/6zb5qr

 

But you'd be better off setting up sync as per - http://tinyurl.com/66beow

 

And maybe using Hamachi to make the connection as per - http://tinyurl.com/5cjqla

Tuned Listener
Posts: 29
Country: United States

Re: Transferring my Act! 2008 data base to a flash drive to use on my laptop at home

Hi Mike,

 

Thank you for your prompt reply.  OUCH! is my first reaction.  So it appears my effective, and simply transfer system has been derailed  by upgrading.  Can I continue to us ACT! 2008, yet revert to an earlier ACT! database version that will permit me to do the flash drive transfer, I have been so successful in using? 

 

As reviewed, if I set up the VPN via Hamachi and do the sync proceedure to my laptap computer - I would need to leave the laptop on all day to make a 2 min. sync.  Is that the correct assumption?  If so, I really need some other options!  Thank you, Jack

Platinum Elite Contributor
Posts: 14,384
Country: Australia

Re: Transferring my Act! 2008 data base to a flash drive to use on my laptop at home

Leave the desktop on and sync from the laptop when you want?

 

Or speak to Brad http://community.act.com/sage/profile?user.id=1220 - his busines can host the database and both systems would sync with it

 

ACT! 6 and ACT! 2008 can be on the same system, but you can only connect one of them to Outlook

Tuned Listener
Posts: 29
Country: United States

Re: Transferring my Act! 2008 data base to a flash drive to use on my laptop at home

Hello.  I was reviewing the Hamachi VPN information - and I seem to have painted myself in a corner  -  "Network Synchronization Service (ACT! Premium only) to synchronize an ACT! 2005-2009".  I don't have the Permium edition.  Any suggestions where I can go from here?

 

Platinum Elite Contributor
Posts: 14,384
Country: Australia

Re: Transferring my Act! 2008 data base to a flash drive to use on my laptop at home

Tuned Listener
Posts: 29
Country: United States

Re: Transferring my Act! 2008 data base to a flash drive to use on my laptop at home

Hello Mike,  Thanks for your response.  You are correct about the sync method in your first email.  In that instruction my computers need to be connected by a LAN, WAN or VPN.  My only way to connect the machines is a high speed internet connection.   So LAN and WAN were out and VPN seemed the way to go, however Hamachi said that I need to have the premium edition, which I don't.  I don't bring my laptop to my workplace.  That's why I feel I am painted into a corner. 

What am I missing here?

Jack

Solution
Accepted by topic author jlferrell
‎09-25-2015 03:20 AM
Platinum Elite Contributor
Posts: 14,384
Country: Australia

Re: Transferring my Act! 2008 data base to a flash drive to use on my laptop at home

What was the reason Hamachi said you need the Premium version?

 

Can your work IT guys do a port forward from the router to your system?

 

If those are not an option, you might have to look at upgrading to Premium and using a hosted sync server with someone like Brad at http://community.act.com/sage/profile?user.id=1220 - send him a message and see what he says