Community
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 

Transfer ACT contacts to another PC

Transfer ACT contacts to another PC

I am very new to ACT.  I have ACT 2009 on a laptop PC that runs on Windows Vista, I'd like to transfer my whole program which is only 33 contacts from this PC to another PC that runs on Windows XP that I have just installed ACT 2009 on. I don't want to remove, I just want to copy and transfer the contacts.  I don't have email or any thing else configured on the first ACT program so it is a very simple program at this point, I don't think the difference in Windows programs should be a problem.  Can I down load the contacts to a flash drive to transfer them.  If so how do I do this?  If this can't be done with a flash drive what is the best way to transfer my information from one PC to another PC in ACT?

I would very much appreciate help with this, this is my work computer and I have to take the laptop computer in for work and I am trying to transfer the program so I can continue working while the laptop is gone for a few weeks.  Then I want to transfer that work back to the laptop when it comes back.

Is there anyone that can tell me step by step how to do this?

Thanks in advance!!!

Re: Transfer ACT contacts to another PC

I have a similar question. How do I transger my database from one computer to another.?
Nickel Contributor

will this be an ongoing thing once the computer comes back after a few weeks? or just a temporary situation?  If it will just be a one time deal then the easiest way would be to just transfer over a backup of the database.

Go to your database and under file|backup select database and create a backup.

Copy this backup file to a thumb drive and copy it over to your other computer

On the new computer, Select Restore|Database and this is important, select "restore as" and give it a new name. you wont be able to use the same exact name on the new computer.