Community
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 

This would have helped me

This would have helped me

I'm new to ACT!  These tips would have helped me a lot.

• Figure out how you want to measure your performance, and the performance of initiatives you take. 
  • The core of the program is Opportunities
  • Create an opportunity for every prospect contact you enter.
  • User-defined fields in Opportunities are more useful than user-defined fields in contacts 
  • Make your own sales process, with your own stages
  • Each stage should represent what the prospect is doing, not what you're doing. For example, if you send samples, you should have a stage called "Evaluating Product" or "In discussion" or "Unresponsive." If you have a stage called "Sent Sample" you won't know what's going on with your customer and you won't know what to do next.
  • I have a stage called Lost. To me, it makes sense as part of the stage progression.  I double-enter it as Opportunity Status,also.
  • Send all your e-mails through ACT!  That's the only way to get the whole history in ACT!
  • Every time you receive an e-mail from a contact, add it to their history manually (Attach to Contact).  Incoming messages from customers MUST BE ADDED TO THEIR HISTORY MANUALLY.  Messages you send will go there automatically.
  • You can't access the SQL tables via ODBC, so you're stuck with their queries (which are a little esoteric).  This is a major weakness for reporting.  You can't group contacts and compare progress between groups (was I more successful at the Vegas show or the Atlanta show?).  You can't connect group to contact and contact to opportunity stage and use it as the basis of a single report.  At least I haven't figured out how, without a real query engine.