Community
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 

Sales tracking question

Sales tracking question

Hi All,

I have just purchased ACT 10 for a non-profit and imported contact information formerly on Excel sheets.  The purpose is to actively manage donors and appeals.  I'm having a hard time finding where to put and how to track donations.  In my day job, I am a salesman and use my company's contact management software.  One of the critical features there is to know how much business has done over a given period of time (or by transaction) so we know how to categorize and service the account.  In this new case, that's more or less what I have to do.  The non-profit also uses software called "One Who Serves" which does a good job of tracking the stuff I just described but can't break it down into more detailed reports.

We are using XP and Quickbooks.

So the question is: how do I track donations by account for both dates of gifts and cumulative gifts over a range of time?

Thanks for any ideas or references to tutorials/threads that speak to this, Skip

Platinum Elite Contributor

Re: Sales tracking question

The primary sales function in ACT! is the Opportunities function. Given that, you could create Opportunities for the gifts and donations, and the Opportunity reports in ACT! should provide you the needed data. Please see KB Article 13962 for information on managing Opportunities.

Greig Hollister

Note: Effective 6/1/13, Sage no longers provides support for the Act! software. This is now provided by Swiftpage.