Community
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 

Sales Process Help!

Sales Process Help!

I am relatively new to ACT but love its flexibility.  I am a bit confused as to how to use it in my sales process because my industry is a bit different (whose isn't I guess).  I do sports and school photography. I have a couple of "tiers" of customers.  My main contacts are board members from sports leagues, they are who make the decision for the photographer.  So I sell my services to leagues and schools.  I have contacts in each organization, usually 1-5.

My products are sold to individual people that we don't track in our system because there are too many and we have too few staff to do so and it just isn't necessary currently.  

Here is how I am currently doing things. 

Since there are so many leagues and schools out there I do not put them into ACT until I have made contact with them.  This is part of my problem now, I really don't have a good way of keeping track of the list of leagues or schools right now before I actually make contact with them. I have a feeling that is my first problem.  I just don't know where to start with it.  Should I be adding ALL schools and leagues that I hope to one day have as a customer to ACT?  Do I add every league as a group?  Then if I make contact they become and opportunity?

Currently, once I make contact with a person froma league, I then add the league to ACT as a Group.  I track my emails and communication with the prospect or "group" and once they become a customer I covert them to a company.  I have Groups and Subgroups as well as Companies and Divisions.  A group would be "Baseball" and it would have subgroups of different leagues that are prospects.  I do the same thing with Companies and Divisions.  This allows my staff to easily find a league and since different sports are in certain times of the year, they do not have to sift through 100 football leagues during baseball season.