Community
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply

Sage ACT! has stopped working

Accepted Solution Solved
Copper Super Contributor
Posts: 88
Country: USA
Accepted Solution

Sage ACT! has stopped working

My ACT! 2011 software suddenly stopped loading, and I get the error message: "Sage ACT! has stopped working" with the following below as details.

 

Any suggestions?

 

Thanks!

 

"Description:
  Stopped working

Problem signature:
  Problem Event Name:    CLR20r3
  Problem Signature 01:    actsage.exe
  Problem Signature 02:    13.0.401.0
  Problem Signature 03:    4c6cd472
  Problem Signature 04:    mscorlib
  Problem Signature 05:    2.0.0.0
  Problem Signature 06:    4bebd50b
  Problem Signature 07:    37a0
  Problem Signature 08:    2c
  Problem Signature 09:    System.Security.XmlSyntax
  OS Version:    6.1.7600.2.0.0.256.48
  Locale ID:    1033

Read our privacy statement online:
  http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?linkid=104288&clcid=0x0409

If the online privacy statement is not available, please read our privacy statement offline:
  C:\Windows\system32\en-US\erofflps.txt"


Accepted Solutions
Solution
Accepted by gmartin (Platinum Super Contributor)
‎09-25-2015 03:20 AM
Copper Super Contributor
Posts: 88
Country: USA

Re: Sage ACT! has stopped working

Thanks for responding, Greg:

 

I'm running Windows 7 PRO 64 bit on an HP-Pavilion p6310.

 

I JUST NOW got it to run when I set the program as Windows XP Compatibility mode. Yeah!

 

Is there an issue with ACT! to run it in Windows 7 PRO 64-bit mode?

View solution in original post


All Replies
Platinum Super Contributor
Posts: 5,275
Country: USA

Re: Sage ACT! has stopped working

Can you provide some additional information about your issue:

- What operating system is your computer running?

- Were any updates applied to your computer (Windows Updates/Automatic Updates)?

- Any updates to your Anti-virus/Firewall software?  What is your Anti-virus software?

 

Some things to try:

- Reboot the computer then attempt to launch Act!

- If computer has Vista or Windows 7, try running Act! 'As Administrator'.  To do this: right click on Act! icon and select 'Run As Administrator'

 

 

Greg Martin
Sage
Solution
Accepted by gmartin (Platinum Super Contributor)
‎09-25-2015 03:20 AM
Copper Super Contributor
Posts: 88
Country: USA

Re: Sage ACT! has stopped working

Thanks for responding, Greg:

 

I'm running Windows 7 PRO 64 bit on an HP-Pavilion p6310.

 

I JUST NOW got it to run when I set the program as Windows XP Compatibility mode. Yeah!

 

Is there an issue with ACT! to run it in Windows 7 PRO 64-bit mode?

Platinum Super Contributor
Posts: 5,275
Country: USA

Re: Sage ACT! has stopped working

Thanks for the update - and glad to hear it is now running!

I'm not aware of any issues with running in 64-bit compatibility mode... we'll have to keep an eye out for it.
Greg Martin
Sage
Avid Listener
Posts: 11
Country: United States

Re: Sage ACT! has stopped working

 

In response to “Sage ACT! has stopped working.“   on 01-05-2011 06:14 AM

ACT! has stopped working    Problem Event Name:    CLR20r3

 

This just also happened to me running Act 2011 with SP1 as 'As Administrator'

Win 7 X64.  I reinstalled Act!  but that did not work so I also set the program to un in Windows XP Compatibility mode.  That worked so then I unchecked XP Compatibility mode…and it …works…at least today it does.  This 2011 has been extremely unstable and finicky.  

Clearly there IS AN ISSUE with ACT! running it in Windows 7 PRO 64-bit mode.

Ansco

 

Sage ACT! has stopped working. 

01-05-2011 06:14 AM

 

My ACT! 2011 software suddenly stopped loading, and I get the error message: "Sage ACT! has stopped working" with the following below as details.

 

Any suggestions?

 

Thanks!

 

 

"Description:

  Stopped working

 

Problem signature:

  Problem Event Name:    CLR20r3

  Problem Signature 01:    actsage.exe

  Problem Signature 02:    13.0.401.0

  Problem Signature 03:    4c6cd472

  Problem Signature 04:    mscorlib

  Problem Signature 05:    2.0.0.0

  Problem Signature 06:    4bebd50b

  Problem Signature 07:    37a0

  Problem Signature 08:    2c

  Problem Signature 09:    System.Security.XmlSyntax

  OS Version:    6.1.7600.2.0.0.256.48

  Locale ID:    1033

 

 

 

01-05-2011 06:53 AM

 

I'm running Windows 7 PRO 64 bit on an HP-Pavilion p6310.

 

I JUST NOW got it to run when I set the program as Windows XP Compatibility mode. Yeah!

 

Is there an issue with ACT! to run it in Windows 7 PRO 64-bit mode?

Employee
Posts: 18
Country: USA

Re: Sage ACT! has stopped working

[ Edited ]

 

  • checked the compatibly mode for XP SP3
  • opened the program
  • unchecked the same box

 

 

... long call resolved by a Google search: System.Security.XmlSyntax then actsage.exe then finding this post, before I searched System.Security.XmlSyntax and mscorlib.dll, that did not give me what i wanted... I guess having the right search terms pay off...

 

Thank you for posting and helping the ACT! community. Smiley Very Happy

Platinum Super Contributor
Posts: 5,275
Country: USA

Re: Sage ACT! has stopped working

Moved to its own post for greater exposure

Bronze Super Contributor
Posts: 1,170
Country: USA

Re: Sage ACT! has stopped working

Interestingly, I just had this same occurence with ACT! 2012 on Win 7 64 bit.

 

Mind you ACT! has been installed on this machine since ACT! 2012 was released late last year.

 

Worked fine up until yesterday afternoon, I had closed it, later went to re-open and started getting ACT! has stopped working message.

 

Thought would just reboot and be fine.

 

Nope.

 

No updates applied to ACT! or Windows, just decided to not work.

 

Compatibility mode allows to load, but sure is strange that this would occur seemingly out of the blue...

Silver Super Contributor
Posts: 2,328
Country: USA

Re: Sage ACT! has stopped working

Scott,

 

It's usually corrupt preferences when that happens.  ACT! saves the new preferences when you close it down so if it has any problems closing down it can corrupt the preferences.  Try removing them with actdiag and see if that doesn't fix the problem.


Stan


If you would like to get more out of ACT! you can find an ACT! Certified Consultant near you by going to:www.act.com/acc.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Stan Smith
ACT! Certified Consultant
ADS Programming Services, Inc.
(205) 222-1661
www.adsprogramming.com
www.actwebhosting.com
Click Here to Purchase Act!
Bronze Super Contributor
Posts: 1,170
Country: USA

Re: Sage ACT! has stopped working

Good to know.

 

That said, why would turning on Win XP compatibility change anything if it is bad prefs?  Because it is now reading/writing the prefs to a different location due to the differences between the Windows' user profiles?