Community
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply

SQL Database Command timed out

Accepted Solution Solved
New Member
Posts: 3
Country: USA
Accepted Solution

SQL Database Command timed out

After upgrading to ACT2012 and computers to Windows 7 on a Windows peer to peer network, we get the error message, "The SQL Database Command timed out" on remote computers when they try to open the shared ACT database.  The message does not appear when opening the database on the host compute.  Once one clicks "okay", the error goes away and the database can be opened by finding it in the open a shared database list.  Can anyone offer any ideas?


Accepted Solutions
Solution
Accepted by topic author dave m
‎09-25-2015 03:20 AM
Platinum Elite Contributor
Posts: 6,537
Country: USA

Re: SQL Database Command timed out

Hello Dave,
Welcome to the Sage ACT! Community. Usually, this error is caused by insufficient permissions. Please see the following Knowledgebase article for more information:
http://kb.Sagesoftwareonline.com/cgi-bin/Sagesoftwareonline.cfg/php/enduser/std_adp.php?p_faqid=2875...

Greig Hollister

Note: Effective 6/1/13, Sage no longers provides support for the Act! software. This is now provided by Swiftpage.

View solution in original post


All Replies
Solution
Accepted by topic author dave m
‎09-25-2015 03:20 AM
Platinum Elite Contributor
Posts: 6,537
Country: USA

Re: SQL Database Command timed out

Hello Dave,
Welcome to the Sage ACT! Community. Usually, this error is caused by insufficient permissions. Please see the following Knowledgebase article for more information:
http://kb.Sagesoftwareonline.com/cgi-bin/Sagesoftwareonline.cfg/php/enduser/std_adp.php?p_faqid=2875...

Greig Hollister

Note: Effective 6/1/13, Sage no longers provides support for the Act! software. This is now provided by Swiftpage.

New Member
Posts: 3
Country: USA

Re: SQL Database Command timed out

I think I already have the folder set up for sharing with everyone, but will have to check when I get back to my office.  I got the computers to open without the message by turning off the Windows firewall on the host computer.  I'd rather not have to leave the firewall turned off, but so far, its the only thing I've gotten to work.

Bronze Super Contributor
Posts: 1,679
Country: Australia

Re: SQL Database Command timed out

If turning off the Windows Firewall on the host computer solved the problem, try KB 19420 which deals with How to Add ACT! by Sage and the ACT7 SQL Server® Instance to the Windows® Firewall Exceptions List

http://kb.sagesoftwareonline.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/19420/

 

Hope that helps,

Ben.

New Member
Posts: 3
Country: USA

Re: SQL Database Command timed out

That was certainly a lot of effort, but it worked.  Thanks for your help.