Community
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply

Remote Synch Problem - Value Cannot be null. Parameter name: url

Bronze Contributor
Posts: 1,393
Country: USA

Remote Synch Problem - Value Cannot be null. Parameter name: url

I am having problems again trying to setup my remote system again. 

 

Getting the subject error.  Searched here and on the knowledgebase, but found nothing for ... name: url

 

I did see several references to duplicate checking.  In the host system it was checked.  In the remote db it was greyed out.

 

I'm sure it is something I've done, but not quite sure where to look.  I did verify that both programs are at the same version.

John Purdy
ACT! Premium 2016 (V. 18)
Main: HP 9470M 8GB, Win 10 Pro, & Exchange 2013 & Office 365, 32bit
Remote: Dell XPS Ultrabook with 4GB & Win 10 Pro, Office 365 32bit & Exchange 2013
Platinum Super Contributor
Posts: 5,275
Country: USA

Re: Remote Synch Problem - Value Cannot be null. Parameter name: url

John,
To verify what is happening - is this message presented when you attempt to sync? If not, what is prompting error?

- Did this remote ever sync successfully?
- If you create and unpack a new remote, will it sync?
- Have you made some recent customizations? Anything to do with a URL field?
Greg Martin
Sage
Bronze Contributor
Posts: 1,393
Country: USA

Re: Remote Synch Problem - Value Cannot be null. Parameter name: url

Hi Greg and thanks for responding.

 

Background:  I have a new base computer and a new remote computer.

 

1.  The remote has never sync'd successfully.

2.  I've created and unpacked the remote 3 times and get the same error.

3.  I have made a number of changes, but nothing with a URL that I can think of.  At least I don't remember making any changes to a URL field.

 

Since I am also a reseller, I was given two copies of ACT2013 Premium at our sale meeting in February and used those disks to create ACT on the new computers.  I used the disks that were provided to me and used the SN that I received from the Beta program.  The program works, but I can't sync..  Please note, though, that on the disk it is titled "Premium 2013 Team Version".  Does that make any difference.

 

Also, the version that is installed on both systems is 15.1.108.0 if that helps.

John Purdy
ACT! Premium 2016 (V. 18)
Main: HP 9470M 8GB, Win 10 Pro, & Exchange 2013 & Office 365, 32bit
Remote: Dell XPS Ultrabook with 4GB & Win 10 Pro, Office 365 32bit & Exchange 2013
Platinum Super Contributor
Posts: 5,275
Country: USA

Re: Remote Synch Problem - Value Cannot be null. Parameter name: url

You mention unpacking the same remote 3 times... have you tried creating a new remote to unpack and test?

The licensing shouldn't be an issue, all versions have the ability to sync.
Greg Martin
Sage
Bronze Contributor
Posts: 1,393
Country: USA

Re: Remote Synch Problem - Value Cannot be null. Parameter name: url

All three unpacking files were uniquely created files -- not the same one.

John Purdy
ACT! Premium 2016 (V. 18)
Main: HP 9470M 8GB, Win 10 Pro, & Exchange 2013 & Office 365, 32bit
Remote: Dell XPS Ultrabook with 4GB & Win 10 Pro, Office 365 32bit & Exchange 2013
Platinum Super Contributor
Posts: 5,275
Country: USA

Re: Remote Synch Problem - Value Cannot be null. Parameter name: url

Ah, my misunderstanding. Have you tried creating a remote from the demo (or a different database) to test? To determine if it is database specific or not.
Greg Martin
Sage
Bronze Contributor
Posts: 1,393
Country: USA

Re: Remote Synch Problem - Value Cannot be null. Parameter name: url

No but that will have to be a weekend task.  I'm also thinking of uninstalling and reinstalling from scratch.

John Purdy
ACT! Premium 2016 (V. 18)
Main: HP 9470M 8GB, Win 10 Pro, & Exchange 2013 & Office 365, 32bit
Remote: Dell XPS Ultrabook with 4GB & Win 10 Pro, Office 365 32bit & Exchange 2013