Community
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply

Remote Act won't sync

New Member
Posts: 5
Country: United Kingdom

Remote Act won't sync

Hi, for about 6 months we had a remote user setup and synchronising without issues - since Christmas it won't sync. I've gone through the forum and tried the rebuild etc but will no luck. Each time it stops when on the second step (database modifications) with a status of "In Progress". Nothing appears to be happening and the log doesn't appear to be much help:

 

======== SYNC SESSION - 17/02/2010 12:58:06 ========

 

[ Info | 17/02/2010 12:58:06 ]Message: Sync remote client created. 

[ Info | 17/02/2010 12:58:06 ]Message: Checking if schema changes are available for sync. 

[ Info | 17/02/2010 12:58:08 ]Message: Client establishing synchronisation with server database: GIFINECUT

[ Info | 17/02/2010 12:58:13 ]Message: Initial Handshake completed. 

[ Info | 17/02/2010 12:58:13 ]Message: Checking if data changes are available for sync. 

[ Info | 17/02/2010 12:58:18 ]Message: Client initialized database send session: 7

[ Info | 17/02/2010 12:58:30 ]Message: Client initialized. 

[ Info | 17/02/2010 12:58:34 ]Message: Client schema synchronised.

 

Can anyone help? The remote PC is currently connected to the same LAN as the server PC and is trying to connect using the local IP address.

 

Thanks 

Platinum Elite Contributor
Posts: 14,384
Country: Australia

Re: Remote Act won't sync

What version/build of ACT! (from Help | About)?

Check both Publisher (main) and Subscriber (remote) - they need to be same.

 

New Member
Posts: 5
Country: United Kingdom

Re: Remote Act won't sync

Hi, They are both running Act! by Sage 2009 (11.0) Version 11.0.0.367

 

Tom

Platinum Elite Contributor
Posts: 14,384
Country: Australia

Re: Remote Act won't sync

You've tried the schema rebuild as per this ACT! Knowledge Base article -

http://kb.sagesoftwareonline.com/cgi-bin/sagesoftwareonline.cfg/php/enduser/std_adp.php?p_faqid=1473...

 

Do you get any error if you just leave it?

 

Is there only the two of you?

 

You might try updating both to 11.1 and Hotfix 4

New Member
Posts: 5
Country: United Kingdom

Re: Remote Act won't sync

Hi,

 

No the schema rebuild completed successfully.

 

There is one remote user and other internal users. The remote user is always in the building when we try to sync the databases and no one else using Act. The Act is open on one PC with Incoming Requests set to Yes

 

I will try updating the Act to see if that will help.

Platinum Elite Contributor
Posts: 14,384
Country: Australia

Re: Remote Act won't sync

Remember ALL users need to update

 

If that doesn't work, you may need to backup and move the remote database to the server, manually merge it in and create a new subscriber database for them

New Member
Posts: 5
Country: United Kingdom

Re: Remote Act won't sync

Hi,

 

I did as suggested and moved the database to the server, sync'd the databases and then republished the remote database. Things were working (or so I was told) but I have now found out that it stopped working soon after. Is there anything else that can be done - I don't want to have to rebuild the database on a monthly schedule.

 

Thanks,

 

Tom

Platinum Super Contributor
Posts: 5,275
Country: USA

Re: Remote Act won't sync

Where is the sync failing?  Is it giving an error message?

Is this the same computer that had the failing remote before?

 

If it is the same computer, is this user doing something that the other user isn't?  For example, large imports of data... 

 

Greg Martin
Sage
New Member
Posts: 5
Country: United Kingdom

Re: Remote Act won't sync

Hi,

 

Yes it is the same user, same computer (we only have 1 remote users). The sync is not failing it just sits and sits and sits - I think the last time I left it was for a few hours.

 

The logs files read:

 

======== SYNC SESSION - 20/05/2010 15:01:08 ========

[ Info | 20/05/2010 15:01:08 ]Message: Sync remote client created.
[ Info | 20/05/2010 15:01:10 ]Message: Checking if schema changes are
available for sync.
[ Info | 20/05/2010 15:01:28 ]Message: Client establishing
synchronisation with server database: GIFINECUT
[ Info | 20/05/2010 15:01:33 ]Message: Initial Handshake completed.
[ Info | 20/05/2010 15:01:33 ]Message: Checking if data changes are
available for sync.
[ Info | 20/05/2010 15:01:36 ]Message: Client initialized database send
session: 7
[ Info | 20/05/2010 15:01:38 ]Message: Client initialized.
[ Info | 20/05/2010 15:01:39 ]Message: Client schema synchronised.

Platinum Super Contributor
Posts: 5,275
Country: USA

Re: Remote Act won't sync

There is a way to determine if it is actually syncing (albeit slowly) using the 'Sync Preview Report'.  You'll need to run this report on both the server and workstation to determine how many changes are queued to sync, then start the sync and let it run.  If you can let it run until it ends (finish or fail), it would be best.  Assuming the sync fails, you can then run the reports again and see if the number of changes has been reduced.

 

For instructions on running the Sync Preview Report visit this article: KB Article 23526

 

Have you run Check and Repair (Tools > Database Maintenance > Check and Repair) on both the host and new remote database?

Greg Martin
Sage