Community
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply

Problems with software updates in ACT 2013

New Member
Posts: 2
Country: USA

Problems with software updates in ACT 2013

We recently moved the ACT program and databases from my PC laptop which I ma getting rid of to my MAC laptop running Paralleles 8 with a Windows 7 virtual machine. When I try to run an update it tells me that I do not have windows administrator access even though the WIndows side of the laptoip says I do. Inthe process of moving the pad file to the laptop we had to create a new database file.

 

Moderator
Posts: 719
Country: USA

Re: Problems with software updates in ACT 2013

More than likely, the reason behind this is due to Windows User Account Control settings.Depending on the method in which you are using to try to run these updates, you may be able to run the updates as an administrator by right-clicking the file you downloaded and selecting "Run as Administrator". If you're trying to use the ACT! Update feature within the program, close out of Act! and run Act! as an administrator the same way as described above before trying to use ACT! Update.

 

If neither of those options work, you can disable UAC by following the Knowledgebase article below:

 

http://kb.swiftpage.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/25665

Elise O'Pry
Swiftpage
Visit our knowledgebase at http://kb.act.com
Copper Elite Contributor
Posts: 514
Country: USA

Re: Problems with software updates in ACT 2013

you can also run Act! as an administrator.

 

Right click on the shortcut on your desktop, choose run as administrator.

Mark Hammer
ACT! Fanatic
New Member
Posts: 2
Country: USA

Re: Problems with software updates in ACT 2013

Thank you that solved the problem

Copper Elite Contributor
Posts: 514
Country: USA

Re: Problems with software updates in ACT 2013

you're welcome!

Mark Hammer
ACT! Fanatic