Community
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 

Problems moving a remote database to a new laptop

Problems moving a remote database to a new laptop

Hope someone can help,

I have a remote database of Act 2012 Pro on my laptop, I have just got a new laptop and need to get my database onto my new machine. My current machine is XP and my new one is Windows 8 if that helps, I am an Act administrator also.

1. I installed Act 2012 from disk to my new machine - No problems

2. I followed 'answer id -19817' and looks like i have done that successfully moving the required files to my new laptop

Problems:

3. When I open Act on my new laptop its asking for a serial number and when I try to put my existing one in it says invalid.

4. When I try to open the database that i moved it asks me for my login details, when i enter them it says ' The database is an act premium 2010 database and can only be opened with a matching act premium 2010 product;

What on earth have I done wrong?

Thanks

David

Platinum Super Contributor

Re: Problems moving a remote database to a new laptop

Hello David,

Welcome to the Sage ACT! Online Community!

It definitely sounds like you have Pro on one computer and Premium on the other.  To verify: open the program on each machine, click Help, select About ACT!.  Note the versions and builds.

If you will provide me with your serial number through a Private Message, I will be able to determine which product it is designed for and provide a link to download the appropriate installation file.  (Click on my Community name, click 'Send this user a private message')

From your description, I assume you will need the Premium link.

Greg Martin
Sage

Hi Greg, 

you are correct, we originally had pro and upgraded to premium, I can't locate the diat however.

i was talking to someone who suggested it may be easier to create a new remote database than to move mine? Maybe you could advise. 

Ill pm you the serial number.

many thanks!