Community
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply

Problem with lookups

Accepted Solution Solved
New Member
Posts: 5
Country: South Africa
Accepted Solution

Problem with lookups

Hi Actors

 

I am using ACT! 2008 version 10.0 [ST Edition) Version 10.0.0.237

 

I no longer am able to do any lookups - if I want to lookup first name for example - i click it and nothing happens .

 

If i create a lookup from task list - then i can use lookup all contacts - but I no longer can search by anything.

 

I have tried repairing both from database maint or from disk.

 

Everything else appears to work just fine.

 

Do I have to reinstall.

 

Please help


Accepted Solutions
Solution
Accepted by topic author ilkington
‎09-25-2015 03:20 AM
Platinum Super Contributor
Posts: 5,275
Country: USA

Re: Problem with lookups

Try removing the Act! Address book from Outlook and then readding it (after closing/restarting Outlook).  Here is a link with details and other steps for resolving this issue: Act! address book not properly configured.

 

 

Greg Martin
Sage

View solution in original post


All Replies
Platinum Super Contributor
Posts: 5,275
Country: USA

Re: Problem with lookups

Before doing an uninstall/reinstall, test the Lookup function in the Act! demo database (or create a new database to test with).  Does the Lookup work there or not?  This will help isolate it to a database issue or a program issue.  If the Lookup also fails in the demo, the next step would be an uninstall/reinstall of the program.
Greg Martin
Sage
New Member
Posts: 5
Country: South Africa

Re: Problem with lookups

I have checked and it appears to be the program - but now when I try to uninstall the following msg comes up

error 1316 a network error occurred while attempting to read c:\windows\installer\act by sage premium 2008 (10.0) msi

Fatal error

 

Won't allow me to uninstall

Platinum Super Contributor
Posts: 5,275
Country: USA

Re: Problem with lookups

We have an Act! Uninstaller utility that will uninstall the program in situations like these.  Instructions can be found at this Act!Uninstaller.exe link.

 

 

 

 

 

Greg Martin
Sage
New Member
Posts: 5
Country: South Africa

Re: Problem with lookups

Thanks Greg

 

We are moving closer - It has uninstalled properly - and rebooted

 

Why does my outlook / active sync program still recognize the link to ACT!

 

I have tried everything to delete this prior to the uninstall and it keeps saying that the link has been broken or it is locked do you still want to link it

New Member
Posts: 5
Country: South Africa

Re: Problem with lookups

I have deleted the address books with regedit - should sort out the problem - will let you know
New Member
Posts: 5
Country: South Africa

Re: Problem with lookups

Yo

Have reinstalled and lookups now work

 

But going into Outlook message comes up

Database not configured or locked do you want to configure it now

Yes or no doesn't seem to make any difference

Solution
Accepted by topic author ilkington
‎09-25-2015 03:20 AM
Platinum Super Contributor
Posts: 5,275
Country: USA

Re: Problem with lookups

Try removing the Act! Address book from Outlook and then readding it (after closing/restarting Outlook).  Here is a link with details and other steps for resolving this issue: Act! address book not properly configured.

 

 

Greg Martin
Sage
New Member
Posts: 2
Country: Australia

Re: Problem with lookups

I'm having this problem too. Only I'm using ACT! 2009 v11.

 

Is reinstalling the only way to fix this problem?

 

Thanks

Platinum Super Contributor
Posts: 5,275
Country: USA

Re: Problem with lookups

Hello Textcentric,

Welcome to the Sage ACT! Online Community!

 

Have you tested this function in the demo database (or a new database)?  If it occurs in a different database, an uninstall/reinstall is likely the fix.

Greg Martin
Sage