Community
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply

Phone formatting - How to add "0"

Accepted Solution Solved
Copper Elite Contributor
Posts: 158
Country: Brazil
Accepted Solution

Phone formatting - How to add "0"

Hi,

I need to add an "0" (zero) in front of all contacts in a given lookup.

My actual default format is: (##)####-###

To add the zero I created a new phone format as follows: (0##)####-####

Question is:

Do I need to scroll to all contacts in select the new default format ?

This way it doesn´t seem´s to work.

Any suggestion ?

Mac, Jorge A. Mac Genity
Using ACT! by Sage 2013 Pro Version 15.1.108.0, on Windows 7
Intel Core I7-2600 CPU @ 3,40 GHz
12,0 GB - 64 bits - NVidia GForce GTX 360 SE

Accepted Solutions
Solution
Accepted by topic author McGnity
‎09-25-2015 03:20 AM
Copper Elite Contributor
Posts: 158
Country: Brazil

Re: Phone formatting - How to add "0"

Hello again Greig,

News about this topic.

I was also using "Contact List Plus" (Durkin Computing). This unfortunately was complicating phone number formatting.

Even if I changed default formats and follow your instructions when looking at contacts list there was still some "##" in front. Those characters where also sent to Outlook.

Let me explain why Outlook was mentioned.

My need is to correctly format phone numbers to be used with:

CallOnCRM to dial straight from ACT interface using Skype service. For this I don´t need to format number in Brazil as (051 e.g.).

To sync with IPhone I need to send phone number with "0" in front.

I needed to duplicate phone number. Some to dial Skype. Some to sync with IPhone (using "CompanionLink").

This was a mess as Contact List Plus was changing formats on "its on desire".

I decided to uninstall Contact List Plus as in this scenario it was giving more problems than benefits.

After that I followed your instructions and everything is OK.

Thank you for your time.

Regards,

Mac, Jorge A. Mac Genity
Using ACT! by Sage 2013 Pro Version 15.1.108.0, on Windows 7
Intel Core I7-2600 CPU @ 3,40 GHz
12,0 GB - 64 bits - NVidia GForce GTX 360 SE

View solution in original post


All Replies
Platinum Elite Contributor
Posts: 6,537
Country: USA

Re: Phone formatting - How to add "0"

Hello Mac,

In order to apply the new format to multiple contacts:

- First temporarily make the new format (0##)##-#### the default

- Create a new phone-type field...it is not necessary to add it to your layout unless you want to see the data

- Perform your lookup and use Edit/Copy Field to copy the phone numbers from your main phone field to the new phone field

- Use Edit/Replace Field to remove the phone numbers from your main field

- Use Edit/Copy Field to copy the data from the new phone field back to the main phone field. When the data comes back over, it should adopt the new phone format

You can then change your default format back to (##)####-###

 

Based on the number of contacts in your lookup, you will have to decide if manually changing the numbers or using the method above will be the quickest.

Greig Hollister

Note: Effective 6/1/13, Sage no longers provides support for the Act! software. This is now provided by Swiftpage.

Copper Elite Contributor
Posts: 158
Country: Brazil

Re: Phone formatting - How to add "0"

Hello Greig,

Thank you, thank you very much for your replay (and your time!).

I will try procedure you suggested and keep you informed.

Regards,

Mac, Jorge A. Mac Genity
Using ACT! by Sage 2013 Pro Version 15.1.108.0, on Windows 7
Intel Core I7-2600 CPU @ 3,40 GHz
12,0 GB - 64 bits - NVidia GForce GTX 360 SE
Copper Elite Contributor
Posts: 158
Country: Brazil

Re: Phone formatting - How to add "0"

Greig,

After following yous instructions I got an different result. Field format now presents an alternative format to Brazil.

In "Country List" now appears to options to Brazil (Brasil (55)) and Brazil (1)). The right format should be Brasil (55), but it´s being set to Brazil(1).

I don´t know if "Brazil (55)" makes the difference !

There is an way to remove the wrong format from Country code list ?

Mac, Jorge A. Mac Genity
Using ACT! by Sage 2013 Pro Version 15.1.108.0, on Windows 7
Intel Core I7-2600 CPU @ 3,40 GHz
12,0 GB - 64 bits - NVidia GForce GTX 360 SE
Solution
Accepted by topic author McGnity
‎09-25-2015 03:20 AM
Copper Elite Contributor
Posts: 158
Country: Brazil

Re: Phone formatting - How to add "0"

Hello again Greig,

News about this topic.

I was also using "Contact List Plus" (Durkin Computing). This unfortunately was complicating phone number formatting.

Even if I changed default formats and follow your instructions when looking at contacts list there was still some "##" in front. Those characters where also sent to Outlook.

Let me explain why Outlook was mentioned.

My need is to correctly format phone numbers to be used with:

CallOnCRM to dial straight from ACT interface using Skype service. For this I don´t need to format number in Brazil as (051 e.g.).

To sync with IPhone I need to send phone number with "0" in front.

I needed to duplicate phone number. Some to dial Skype. Some to sync with IPhone (using "CompanionLink").

This was a mess as Contact List Plus was changing formats on "its on desire".

I decided to uninstall Contact List Plus as in this scenario it was giving more problems than benefits.

After that I followed your instructions and everything is OK.

Thank you for your time.

Regards,

Mac, Jorge A. Mac Genity
Using ACT! by Sage 2013 Pro Version 15.1.108.0, on Windows 7
Intel Core I7-2600 CPU @ 3,40 GHz
12,0 GB - 64 bits - NVidia GForce GTX 360 SE