Community
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply

Odd problem with layouts

Accepted Solution Solved
Tuned Listener
Posts: 11
Country: United States
Accepted Solution

Odd problem with layouts

[ Edited ]

I'm having an odd problem. I am creating a new Groups layout, and for some reason whenever I go to look at it in the main view, the outlines around the fields are not appearing. Whatever I enter in the field also appears somewhat abnormal, like shifted or out of place. I also noticed that on my Design Layouts screen, the field names for Group layouts are all bold, so I don't know if this has anything to do with anything.  I've pretty much only used Contact layouts, and I've never seen a bold field name. Below are pictures comparing my Contacts screen and my Groups screen, so you can compare what the fields look like with and without outlines.

 

 

 What it normally looks like: 

 

 

 

 What my Group layout looks like:

 

  

 

Such an odd problem, but it really bothers me for some reason. I feel like there is an incredibly obvious, simple solution and I'm going to feel stupid when someone points it out. Thoughts anyone? 

 

EDIT: It also should be noted, I just realized, that when I switch between the default Group layout and my custom Group layout, I get an ACT! error saying "Object reference not set to an instance of an object." Not sure if this has anything to do with it.

Message Edited by TaylorC on 04-05-2010 05:01 PM

Accepted Solutions
Solution
Accepted by topic author TaylorC
‎09-25-2015 03:20 AM
Copper Elite Contributor
Posts: 126
Country: USA

Re: Odd problem with layouts

to add to the above comment, change your field Border Style to "Fixed 3D" to ahve it appear like the other fields.
Scott Lahn
Sage ACT! Customer Support

View solution in original post


All Replies
Copper Elite Contributor
Posts: 158
Country: Brazil

Re: Odd problem with layouts

Hi Taylor,

Have you tried to press keyboard F4 while editing your layout ?

It will open a properties panel at right allowing you to edit layout properties for every field.

Mac, Jorge A. Mac Genity
Using ACT! by Sage 2013 Pro Version 15.1.108.0, on Windows 7
Intel Core I7-2600 CPU @ 3,40 GHz
12,0 GB - 64 bits - NVidia GForce GTX 360 SE
Solution
Accepted by topic author TaylorC
‎09-25-2015 03:20 AM
Copper Elite Contributor
Posts: 126
Country: USA

Re: Odd problem with layouts

to add to the above comment, change your field Border Style to "Fixed 3D" to ahve it appear like the other fields.
Scott Lahn
Sage ACT! Customer Support
Tuned Listener
Posts: 11
Country: United States

Re: Odd problem with layouts

Thanks guys, looks good now.
Copper Elite Contributor
Posts: 158
Country: Brazil

Re: Odd problem with layouts

Good to know Taylor. Enjoy your new layout.
Mac, Jorge A. Mac Genity
Using ACT! by Sage 2013 Pro Version 15.1.108.0, on Windows 7
Intel Core I7-2600 CPU @ 3,40 GHz
12,0 GB - 64 bits - NVidia GForce GTX 360 SE