Community
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 

Need recommendation for Add-ons

Need recommendation for Add-ons

I have been using ACT 2009 Pro for a couple of years.  We rely heavily on the scheduling function to schedule students at our tutoring center.  I would like to add functionality to do the followiing:

1. Add an attendance function (data entry form)  in which the system would read from the schedule (activities) and allow the user to record additional information, including whether the student was present,  effort (satisfactory, good, very good, excellent - from a drop-down menu), and general comments.
  2. Once the attendance has been saved, I would like to send an email (to a different contact -- the parent)  which shows the information that was entered on the attendance form.

I would appreciate if anyone can comment on a) the feasibilty of this and b) what ACT add-on(s) I might need to accomplish this.

I am open to creating this in an external application (MS-Access, for example), but am not aware of how to access the ACT SQL database via ODBC.

Thanks,

Art

Platinum Elite Contributor

Re: Need recommendation for Add-ons

1. Can be done with one of the three tools to create custom tables: itTables, Durkin Toolkit or Topline Designer

2. I think this would need some custom development

Mike,

Thank you.   When you say  it would need custom development, are you saying that this would require something other than the configuration of any of the tools that you mentioned?  Some type of scripting?  External objects?  Use of APIs?

Perhaps the next step is to try one of these tools and see how far I can get.

Thanks,

Art

Platinum Elite Contributor

None of them will email data from one Contact to another, and none will include data from the custom tables... This would need some development using the ACT! SDK
Bronze Super Contributor