Community
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 

NEW TO ACT - SEVERAL DATABASES

NEW TO ACT - SEVERAL DATABASES

I have been using ACT for a few months now - but I have several different databases.  I want to be able to open 2 or 3 at a time - is that possible?

Thanks!

Janet Carriger
Copper Super Contributor

Re: NEW TO ACT - SEVERAL DATABASES

Unfortunately, ACT does not allow for multiple databases to be opened at once.  Is there a reason you need more than one database?  It is far easier to work in 1 database, and segment the database using certain fields, than to manage multiple databases and calendars.
Cindy Gavelek, M.Ed., ACC
Confluence
cgavelek@confluencecorp.com

here is what I have - maybe you can explain.

I have 3 databases that I need to have access all day -

They are different companies - they are a client list - for each company.  Would it work - using one database.......
Platinum Elite Contributor

You could use Groups or a feild to identify which contacts belong to which company.

It's better to have everything in a single database

Thank you so much - I will try that!  I really appreciate your help.  Have a great day!

Warm Regards,

Janet Carriger
Employee

Janet,
One thing that I would suggest looking at is using the dynamic groups feature.  This allows you to create a relationship between information entered in to a field and the groups that you have created. 

Example:  I created  a field called Contact Activity Status.  I built a drop down list inside of the field that one could select either "active" or "inactive". 

After I created the field I then went into my groups section and set up a group called Contact Activity Status and then set up two sub-groups below which were called "active" and "inactive". 

Once you have set up the groups you can click on the button that is named "Add/Remove Contacts" which is located under the notes and history tabs for your group.