Community
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 

Migration and consolidation - two machines to a single machine

Migration and consolidation - two machines to a single machine

Hello all,

I have a complicated migration task, and I would appreciate getting feedback and/or pointers to KB articles that would assist me. 

The task is this: I have two Windows XP machines running Act! 2010 Premium.  They are used by different departments.  I need to move these on a single Microsoft 2008 Enterprise server.  Being a production environment, this brings up issues with availability.

I'm new to the Act! product line.

I do not see documentation for co-existing previously deployed Act! solutions (though, it's a remarkably specific task, so I'm not surprised).  I see documentation for importing/exporting data, but I'm not sure if this is more appropriate than a backup/restore operation. 

Again, any help would be great.

-Alex

Silver Contributor

Re: Migration and consolidation - two machines to a single machine

1) All computers in both environments need to be on the same version of ACT

2) move both existing databases to the new server and share them out.

3) both groups use their respective databases.

It basically is a backup restore to the new server.  There will be special considerations if there are sync databases deployed or if the two companies are not on the same network or geographic location.

Test Drive Act! and Quickbooks over Citrix http://GoTryAct.com

Jon Klubnik| ActTrainer.com
(866)710 4228

ACT! Certified Consultant / ACT! Premier Trainer / ACT! Hosting Provider

Thanks Jon,

1) All machines appear to be on the same version of ACT (12.0.409.0), but they are on different hotfixes (1 vs 3). 

2) By "sharing them out", I take it that this lets clients know of the new server as per #13878 .  So I need to go on each of the clients and update the location of the .PAD file?