Community
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 

Make user emails private

Tuned Listener

Make user emails private

I am an administrator using ACT! by Sage Premium 2009

We have several; users set up with ACT. I have set up Act/Outlook so all sent and received emails are logged in history. Is there a way I can stop email histories attaching to users history that come from another user or can I at least make those emails hidden where only the sender or receiver of the emails van view them.  I know that I could remove their email address from their record, but I need that in there for other purposes. However when a manager sends an email to one of their associates regarding performance, time off, etc, the other users should not be able to see those if they look at that managers history.   I have tried setting them all to private, but that is greyed out and I cannot change them from public to private.  I am at a loss to know what to do.   Would love to get some help or suggestions about this.   What about the Select User setting - would something like that work for what I need?  Thanks!

Platinum Super Contributor

Re: Make user emails private

There isn't an option within ACT! 2009 to stop the internal/user emails from recording - an option was added to ACT! 2011 and later versions to address this.

As you noted, you cannot make a user record Private and removing the email address would stop the emails from being recorded but may not be a workable solution.

Possible alternatives:
1. You could create a contact record for each of the users which would contain their respective email address, then make those records Private (either to you or to themselves). Then you would remove the email address from the 'My Record' records. So, the emails will be recorded to the Private records, but not be available to all users.