Community
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 

Mail Merge Failure

Mail Merge Failure

[ Edited ]

I saw a few other threads but none were closely related to the issue one of my clients is having--

First off, I have never worked with ACT before, I've heard the name but never actually saw it until now. I don't know what version the user is using, I don't have a copy of it to troubleshoot myself, so I am at the mercy of any suggestions I could relay other than what I have already tried. We are running Exchange 2003 and the only thing that has changed from when it was "working" to now was the client OS / configuration.

My client is attempting to merge about 7,800 records and fails after about 1,100 records with the error:

String cannot be of zero length. Parameter name: oldValue

Things I've already suggested:

• Run a repair on the ACT! suite
  • Run a repair on the ACT! database / create a copy and try from the new copy
  • Switch between using Outlook and ACT! for mail
  • Use Word as the default word processor

Nothing has seemed to fix the issue. I am assuming the database is fine, about four others can connect to it just fine. She just noticed this after another tech put a new baseline image on it to fix some other issues she was having.

Message Edited by newit on 07-03-2008 07:29 AM
Copper Super Contributor

Re: Mail Merge Failure

A major red flag here is the "new baseline image" on her workstation; mirroring, imaging, ghosting procedures do not play well with SQL.

A troubleshooting step, can anyone else run the merge?

Brad Marquardt
realtimeACT, Inc
Colorado, USA

I appreciate the quick response; others are able to run the merge.
Copper Super Contributor