Community
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply

Intro to synchronization in ACT 2010 questions

Master Commentator
Posts: 287
Country: USA

Intro to synchronization in ACT 2010 questions

[ Edited ]

Hello,

 

I have read several messages here and searched the knowledge base.

What I can't figure out is the following:

 

1. Can you set up synchronization on 2 stand alone laptops (like in your house), that are not on a network or any type?

 

2. Can this with done with the standard version of ACT 2010 (not the premium or higher editions) being installed on both laptops?

 

Thank you

 

 

 

 

Message Edited by training2go on 10-05-2009 05:58 PM
Platinum Elite Contributor
Posts: 14,384
Country: Australia

Re: Intro to synchronization in ACT 2010 questions

Master Commentator
Posts: 287
Country: USA

Re: Intro to synchronization in ACT 2010 questions

[ Edited ]

Hi mike,

 

Thank you. I read the info on the link that you posted. it sounds like I can use one laptop as the server and set the database to be shared,  and the other laptop for the workstation for the remote database.

 

Do you think that in future versions, the process of sharing a database between 2 or more stand alone computers will become easier?

 

I would like to see an option that can be selected, that will copy all necessary files to a zip file and save it on an external thumb drive as an executable file and then be able to double-click on the .exe file and have the files copied to the remote machine.

 

Tracy

Message Edited by training2go on 10-13-2009 10:44 PM
Platinum Elite Contributor
Posts: 14,384
Country: Australia

Re: Intro to synchronization in ACT 2010 questions

I'm not sure how much easier it can get?

 

It's a SQL sync, which means it does require a direct connection

Copper Contributor
Posts: 61
Country: USA

Re: Intro to synchronization in ACT 2010 questions

I'm searching Community to try to learn how to syncrhonize my desktop to my laptop database. I read your comment, "I'm not sure how much easier it can get?" in a reply that you sent to someone. I'll tell you how easy it can get. Go back and do a synchronize in ACT 2000. Smiley Happy  It's a snap. I just upgraded from 2000 to 2010 and for the life of me I can't figure out how to synchronize between my two PCs.

 

Regards,

 

Dan

 

Platinum Elite Contributor
Posts: 14,384
Country: Australia

Re: Intro to synchronization in ACT 2010 questions

Did you have a look at my link above?

ACT! 2000 sync was very easy to break and corrupt the data.