Community
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 

Importing data from GoldMine 6.7 Standard

Accepted Solution Solved
Accepted Solution

Importing data from GoldMine 6.7 Standard

Hello - I'm a GoldMine user for 10 plus years. Don't know all the bells and whistles, but most of the basics. Due to GoldMine no longer being supported and the new upgrade requirements my boss has decided to change to Act, which I have no experience with. I work remotely so I don't have an IT staff to go to with problems, so I thought I'd start here. The Act version I'm trying to get working is: ACT! by Sage Premium 2010 Version 12.0.409.0, Hotfix 3

I understand what I can import from GoldMine to Act is fairly limited, but I was hoping to at least get all the contacts and their details. So I have used export in GoldMine to an ASCII file for all contacts.  I have roughly 3700 contacts in my GoldMine database. When I use the export wizard the process monitor shows the 3700 contacts, and when I start the Text Delimited import wizard in Act, it shows considerably more than the 3700 than Goldmine shows. After I complete the mapping procedure (which I'm not sure I'm doing correctly) and start the import, the green status bar moves slowly for the 1st minute or so, then disappears and I go to the Act start screen. There are approximately 580 contact imported and there are no contact names. Company names yes, but not the contact names. Is there any place that explains step by step how to import? I'm not sure what the difference is between contact and company, and group import, and if I should be setting anything up in Act to accommodate the data from GoldMine. And I have no idea why I'm only getting under 600 of my 3700 contacts.

Any help in getting this Act novice started in the right direction would be appreciated.

Thank you,

Steve

Accepted Solutions
Solution
Accepted by topic author steverino1997a
‎09-25-2015 03:20 AM
Bronze Contributor