Community
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply

Importing data from Excel in ACT!v16 prem = missing data in my memo field? is it because of Commas in my data? if yes, how to fixy?

Accepted Solution Solved
Nickel Elite Contributor
Posts: 934
Country: USA
Accepted Solution

Importing data from Excel in ACT!v16 prem = missing data in my memo field? is it because of Commas in my data? if yes, how to fixy?

Importing data from Excel in ACT!v16 prem = missing data in my memo field? is it because of Commas in my data? if yes, how to fixy?

Any help most appreciated.  Should I save the cvs as a .dbf file type?  Other? FSBill

 

Bill Williams - Owner/Consultant/Trainer at Fill Staff "ACT! FOR RECRUITERS"
Manage Your ACT! Backups http://fillstaff.com/backupfolderspro.html - FREE
BIG ACT! LAYOUTS for Larger Monitors www.bigactlayouts.com
Protect your Files & Folders with Folder Lock Pro by New Software http://download.cnet.com/Folder-Lock/3000-2092_4-10063343.html

Accepted Solutions
Solution
Accepted by Gary W (Administrator)
‎11-10-2015 05:00 AM
Platinum Elite Contributor
Posts: 6,652
Country: USA

Re: Importing data from Excel in ACT!v16 prem = missing data in my memo field? is it because of Commas in my data? if yes, how to fixy?

Yes it's the commas. Pure csv doesn't enclose the field data in quotes which would mask commas in the field data from being delimiter marks. For that reason I typically use tab as the delimiter.

Roy Laudenslager
ACT! Certified Consultant
ACT! Report Expert
Durkin Impact Report Designer
www.techbenders.com
royel@techbenders.com
541-343-8129

View solution in original post


All Replies
Solution
Accepted by Gary W (Administrator)
‎11-10-2015 05:00 AM
Platinum Elite Contributor
Posts: 6,652
Country: USA

Re: Importing data from Excel in ACT!v16 prem = missing data in my memo field? is it because of Commas in my data? if yes, how to fixy?

Yes it's the commas. Pure csv doesn't enclose the field data in quotes which would mask commas in the field data from being delimiter marks. For that reason I typically use tab as the delimiter.

Roy Laudenslager
ACT! Certified Consultant
ACT! Report Expert
Durkin Impact Report Designer
www.techbenders.com
royel@techbenders.com
541-343-8129
Nickel Elite Contributor
Posts: 934
Country: USA

Re: Importing data from Excel in ACT!v16 prem = missing data in my memo field? is it because of Commas in my data? if yes, how to fixy?

Roy, many thanks - Bill

 

Bill Williams - Owner/Consultant/Trainer at Fill Staff "ACT! FOR RECRUITERS"
Manage Your ACT! Backups http://fillstaff.com/backupfolderspro.html - FREE
BIG ACT! LAYOUTS for Larger Monitors www.bigactlayouts.com
Protect your Files & Folders with Folder Lock Pro by New Software http://download.cnet.com/Folder-Lock/3000-2092_4-10063343.html
Bronze Super Contributor
Posts: 1,679
Country: Australia

Re: Importing data from Excel in ACT!v16 prem = missing data in my memo field? is it because of Commas in my data? if yes, how to fixy?

As Roy said, using a TAB as a delimiter helps heaps Smiley Happy

Also I've found that using OakMerge makes the job much easier.

Nickel Elite Contributor
Posts: 934
Country: USA

Re: Importing data from Excel in ACT!v16 prem = missing data in my memo field? is it because of Commas in my data? if yes, how to fixy?

Thanks also Ben, Will also be trying to save as .dbf file type?  Smiley Happy Bill

 

Bill Williams - Owner/Consultant/Trainer at Fill Staff "ACT! FOR RECRUITERS"
Manage Your ACT! Backups http://fillstaff.com/backupfolderspro.html - FREE
BIG ACT! LAYOUTS for Larger Monitors www.bigactlayouts.com
Protect your Files & Folders with Folder Lock Pro by New Software http://download.cnet.com/Folder-Lock/3000-2092_4-10063343.html