Community
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 

Import from version 4 to 11?

Import from version 4 to 11?

Hello, ACT! newbie here.  I have a client that is using ACT! version 4 and is considering upgrading to the latest version.  Will an export of data from version 4 be imported into version 11 ok?

Any information is appreciated!

Gary

Re: Import from version 4 to 11?

Gary,

No export is necessary.  You'll need to convert the ACT! 4.0 database to ACT! 2009.

How to Convert an ACT! 3.x - 6.x Database to ACT! by Sage 2009 (11.0)

Thanks for the info and the quick response!

Gary

I moved from v6 (which worked perfectly) to v11 and had significant problems with the data conversion. I had used ACT since the DOS days, and there are tons of possible pitfalls that cause this conversion to fail that the diagnostics do not pick up and there are no clear reports generated that indicate the source of the failure.

I spent several hours on with tech support (because of waiting for the conversion to fail, trying to import to another newly created empty database etc...)... only to be told that they don't support a v6 corrupt database.

The database was not corrupt --- the conversion process would kick it out but not generate enough information to manually fix it...